30k Pc

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Mayur, Sep 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mayur

    Mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My friend needs a PC at about 30K
    I need AMD and Intel both configurations
    What is price of 3800+ dualcore
    and which motherboard with Good onboard graphics suits this processor under 5-6k or less he wont mind playing games under low resolutions until he gets a graphic card.
    AND what is Intel dual core(Not double core as digit said this month in its article) price?
    Flat 15/17" CRT will do.
     
  2. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    AMD X2 3800+ 8500/-
    ASUS A8N VM 4000/-
    2x256DDR400 4200/-
    160 GB sata2 3000/-
    cab+400wPSU 1300/-
    DVD combo 1300/-
    17"normal 5000/- [around 6100/- for the flat ones].
    Creative inspire 2.1 1700/-
    --------------------------------29000/-
    Its 1k less than the max u said.
    If u increase the bdget for at least 3k more u can get a gcard too like the 7300GS for 3.5k or a 7300GT for 5.5k.
     
  3. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only 512 MB RAM???
    For Rs. 4500 you can get 1 GB of DDR400 RAM. Even if you do only get 512 MB, get a single chip. 2x256 MB is just a waste of RAM slots.
    Cabinet+400W PS is a little more expensive....closer to Rs. 2000.
    Get a Liteon DVD writer. It only costs 700 bucks more than the combo drive.
     
  4. cooldude

    cooldude New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey my friend also wants a config of 35k
    with a max power processor (3GHz) good GPU 4 Gamin 1GB ram powerfull mobo which could also be upgraded in future
    u can cut out the keyboard, mouse,cd rom,speaker he already has these but give config wth &wthout these things & can u also give more details about the mobo(audio pcie) & processor(GHz) in the above config give to mayur
     
  5. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    CAb + 400w is not that costly. Any local cab now comes with at least 400W PSU though not reliable as antec or the like.
    As hes not goin gor a gcard, he wouldn't be probably go for gamin. SO a 512 is enough. But it would be better if goin for 1GB. But the prices of mem is rising as hell now. Better add more mem later when again become as cheap as before.

    @cooldude
    If he can cut out those things he can probably get a more powerful PC.
    AMD X2 3800+[1.8GHZ dual core somewhat equalent to Pentium D 3.4Ghz]939 socket.
    ASUS A8NE mobo.[1PCIE16x,2*PCIE1x,1*PCI4x,3*PCI. 7.1HD audio(realtec 850)with optical nd coaxial out onbard. Gr8 overclocking. 5600/-
    2*512 4500
    XFX 7600GS 7~7.5k or Forsa 76--GS 6.5k.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2006
  6. OP
    OP
    Mayur

    Mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which socket is 3800+ dualcore
    I am confused in 939 , 940 , AM2 slots
    Does a8n-e support am2 socket as i have a8n-e and my processor is a 939 pin one
     
  7. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3800+ dual core comes in both socket 939 and AM2.
    A8N-E supports only socket 939.
     
  8. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    The AM2 mobos supports only DDR2 nd there is not much noticeable perfomance diff b/w an AM2 3800+ nd a 939 3800+. DDR can run on crazy latencies nd its here where it beats DDR2. Most DDR2 runs on somewhat 4-4-4-12, but good DDR runs on 2.5-3-3-5 or even higher.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Mayur

    Mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    939 & 940 What is th difference are there actually 940 pins
     
  10. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes there are actually 940 pins.
    Socket 940 is for the Opteron processors meant for servers while socket 939 is meant for general home usage.
     
  11. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    939 is meant for home nd gaming PCs. Entry level 64 bit CPUs like 3000+ nd all the way upto FX60 dual core is available in socket 939. AM2 not always better than 939. For comparing same procs in 939 nd AM2 platforms, Am2 is s lil better thats all due to DDR[but only if u use good 667Mhz mem or higher like 800Mhz DDR2]. There is no other NEW feature in AM2.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Mayur

    Mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can i play newer games on ASUS A8N VM
    what is graphics memory shared available
     
  13. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Other than gaming, Intel D940>=X2 3800

    PC- Not meant for gaming, not meant for good use of Vista

    Intel C2D E6300 : 10500
    MSI Neo F 965 : 6500
    512MB X 2 DDR2 667 Transcend/Corsair Value : 4500
    160GB SATA II SEAGATE NCQ : 3000
    el cheapo PCI E GPU worth around 2k
     
  14. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    A8N VM has 6100 onboard graphics. U can add some 256 MB of video mem as shared. U can at least play newer games but at lowest possible settings for most games. Adding more mem nd increasing shared mem on this mobo make some gr8 differences.

    What I suggest isu should only buy 512 mb mem now nd buy a 7300GS or even GT for 3.5k or 5.5k. It makes more difference in adding any of these cards than adding another 512mb.

    Lastly, get the ASUS A8NE mobo instead of A8NVM. A8NE has nforce 4 ultra chipset nd is gr8 on overclocking. U can easily run a 3800+ at 2.4 or 2.6 or even higher with good stability on this board nd the onboard sound[realtec 7.1] is much better than the VMs[soundmax]. All in all its a good future proof board which help to get every ounce of perfomance from every hardware on ur PC.
     
  15. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    get the Core 2 Duo. Core 2 Duo @ 1.8GHz > X2 @ 2.4GHz
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Mayur

    Mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats price of core 2 Duo
    can it fit in 30k with DVD writer,mb ram and a good M/B with good onboard graphics
     
  17. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Core 2 Duo E6300 Rs. 10,000
    MSI Neo F 965 Rs. 6,500
    1 GB DDR667 RAM Rs. 5,000
    Liteon DVD writer Rs. 2,000
    Total Rs. 23,500
    The mobo has onboard graphics but seeing as you have a budget of 30k, you can easily afford a Forsa Geforce 7600GS Rs. 6,700.
     
  18. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    The best choice would be;
    AMD X2 3800+ : 8500
    A8NE: 5200
    1x512 :2200
    250sata2 : 3900
    7600GT: 10500/-
    this would be a damn machine for gamin. The mem was rationed to 512 as the budget is 300 bucks over 30k. But it would be a lot better if u add another 512 as with such a cards one would go for high res nd high quakity there there should be enough mem to hold those huge textures.
    This machine is always better than a core2duo E6300+7600GS as far as gamin is concerned.
     
  19. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    512mb + 7600GT < 1GB + 7600GS

    anyway, gaming is not the priority, right?
     
  20. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Hi, i personally used 512+7600GT for over a week till i get hold of my 2x512 new. There's actually not much perfomance diff other than loading times. There is a heel lot diff in game loading times with 1GB, but not that diff in game play.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page