2nd Gen or 3rd Gen Laptop

karthikmlore

The Multi-Decision Mogul
Hello guys.

Hello guys.

I'm planning to purchase a laptop in mid July. I'll be using it for editing photos in photoshop, some video editing (not in a professional level), programming, and some softwares like blender. I won't be gaming much but i do play NFS now and then.

I'm no professional here (I just finished my 12th and i'm going to opt for Computer Science and Engineering this year) and i'm not planning on running Windows on my system. I'll be using Ubuntu and i may run Windows virtually. But i will be using Wine to run Windows compatible softwares in Ubuntu.

My budget is around 35-40k and I don't like Dell systems. I think i'll go for Acer or Toshiba. The config i'm planning to get is:

Core i5, 4GB or 6GB RAM, 1GB dedicated graphics, 500GB HDD and 15inch screen.

Is this config sufficient for my needs..?

The problem is, I don't get this clock speed thing of processors. I mean, should i even bother about the clock speed..? I'm running a 2.7GHz E5400 on my desktop with 2GB DDR2 RAM.. How will a 2.3GHz 2nd Gen Core i5 perform on a laptop with 4GB DDR3 if i compare it with my desktop processor.

And i'm even confused whether to go for 2nd Gen Core i5 or 3rd Gen (Intel will be releasing many 3rd Gen mobile processors in June)...do I really need a dedicated graphics if I go for a 3rd Gen Core i5...? i've heard it has a good graphics processing capability.

I know its pretty early to ask this since i'll be buying it after about 1.5month, but do suggest some laptops.

dashing.sujay

Moving
Staff member
Core i5, 4GB or 6GB RAM, 1GB dedicated graphics, 500GB HDD and 15inch screen.

Is this config sufficient for my needs..?

Pretty much.

I mean, should i even bother about the clock speed..? I'm running a 2.7GHz E5400 on my desktop with 2GB DDR2 RAM.. How will a 2.3GHz 2nd Gen Core i5 perform on a laptop with 4GB DDR3 if i compare it with my desktop processor.