Who stole my Alpaca!
(c) You may not and you agree not to, or to enable others to, copy (except as expressly permitted by this License), decompile, reverse engineer, disassemble, attempt to derive the source code of, decrypt, modify, or create derivative works of the iPhone Software or any services provided by the iPhone Software, or any part thereof (except as and only to the extent any foregoing restriction is prohibited by applicable law or to the extent as may be permitted by licensing terms governing use of open-sourced components included with the iPhone Software). Any attempt to do so is a violation of the rights of Apple and its licensors of the iPhone Software. If you breach this restriction, you may be subject to prosecution and damages.

This is the iPhone SLA. If everyone doesn't value this . Then why exactly should the SLA for their computers or OS be valued with a different standard.

Question 2: I'm sorry to be a weasel and rat on another forum member but I'm just going to show why I feel this is a double standard. Go into the QNA section huge thread you people have going on and check to how many questions you have replied to which involves helping hackintoshes. Why weren't these taken off this board as well? In either case I don't care of either. But maintaining an ethical stance on threads randomly is rather silly.

Example : *www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=89190
Since when is downloading youtube videos ethical ?
Since when is Limewire to download songs legal?

Even if there is some way it is legal (I didnt read the whole thing just the main points) I could go on days and posting rubbish about ethical standards followed by various members on this forum. Anyway its just my two cents.

And unlocking iPhones is not illegal. Once you've bought the phone, it's yours to do with it what you will, as long as you don't sell the modified software. Helping someone unlock an iPhone is essentially like teaching them how to stick the Dock to one corner of the screen on Mac OS X. It's a software hack for something you legally own.

According to their SLA it is. Maybe I have misunderstood in that case. Either way applying a hack to the iPhone makes is a modified version in other words not a version Apple came out with in the first place.
That's can never be the case for hackint0sh users because a legally purchased retail copy of Leopard just cannot be made to run on a PC. Therefore, it's illegal, plain and simple, and any discussion about it is disallowed on the Digit forum, or at least, it should be.
A hackintosh is a modified version of Mac OSX. A legally purchased iPhone would not run on various other networks or wouldn't allow you to the benefits of a jailbroken phone. Hence by your definition itself isn't that illegal?

Anyway I'm taking this topic way off course I think it was just to find Hackintosh users. My apologies if I offended anyone.

Applying a similar logic, is it OK to download and use these releases if I legally own a copy of Leopard or Tiger ?

If you own a Mac, then yes. Own the hardware do what you want to with it. You paid for the hardware it is for you to keep. 1 buys the license for the software and not the software.

Applying a similar logic, is it OK to download and use these releases if I legally own a copy of Leopard or Tiger ?
No, it isn't. You're not hacking your own copy. You're downloading a hacked copy from a third party. That right there, in and of itself, is illegal.

----------

CadCrazy sent me a PM telling me that I'm jealous of you hackint0sh users. He didn't mention why but I'm guessing it's because you get to run Mac OS X for a far lesser price than I do. Well, if price was my only parameter for judging what to buy and use, like it is for 99% of the members on this forum, he would've been right.

Thankfully though, it isn't. If it was, I would never have purchased Acquisition when LimeWire does the same job for free, nor would I be buying an iMac when I can install and run Mac OS X on my existing PC. I'm not jealous because using a hackint0sh is like driving an Audi in a village or wearing an expensive shirt with a lungi, for lack of better analogies. Sure you can save money by forgoing the city life and not buying a pair of classy trousers, but I'd rather not. I prefer buying a Mac, by choice, because running Mac OS X on a Mac and on a PC is just not the same. The Mac experience is simple unbeatable and, to my mind, worth the last penny.

shantanu

i think a Standard EULA states that you can use, deploy and change your own copy , while cannot Recomplie or Reverse engineer it :) , that means hacking or experimenting your own phone or software maybe legal , while everyone knows that using MAC software on PC is Illegal ! its just like using a pirated software ! :)

sourabh is looking to the thread i suppose :)

I agree with arya here :)

The pious mac user will never take the stand back when it comes to oomph factor exaggeration .

I found the ignorant regale much more engrossing. Let's hope its not same with the gustatory habits too.

Thereby I refute every arguements by a psychophant of corporates who are blindfolded by some highly corrugated EULA and says you cant own the software in first place and all kind of blasphemy.

Mac Ideal there is no use pacifying what been exposed, like if someone cares. but take my line, apple will be the first thing you will ever want to get rid off when you open your eyes.

:p

For everything else, read my previous post. hypocrites will be hypocrites and yes you can own a software, including binary and source code. You much it, break it, seal it, fix it or share it without any friggin interference from third party

Do you pay $2 for a wifi driver ?????????? Yep apple do want you to pay

*store.apple.com/us/product/D4141ZM/A

May I ask, what is the purpose of this thread anyway? You guys wanted to show off that you use hackint0shes. Mission accomplished. You don't really have anything else to discuss.

As for piracy, yeah, I indulge in it. So does every single person in the world who uses a computer. I buy software from indie developers and pirate stuff that is sold by the likes of Adobe, Apple and Microsoft. However, I neither go around encouraging others to do so nor do I help anyone pirate stuff on this forum. It's not called hypocrisy, it's called abiding by the rules.

And unlocking iPhones is not illegal. Once you've bought the phone, it's yours to do with it what you will, as long as you don't sell the modified software. Helping someone unlock an iPhone is essentially like teaching them how to stick the Dock to one corner of the screen on Mac OS X. It's a software hack for something you legally own.

That's can never be the case for hackint0sh users because a legally purchased retail copy of Leopard just cannot be made to run on a PC. Therefore, it's illegal, plain and simple, and any discussion about it is disallowed on the Digit forum, or at least, it should be.

Anyway, my duty was done once I'd reported the thread. What you guys do now is hardly any of my business. :)

OFFTOPIC :
@aryayush
Your Siggy
Posted from my iPhone.
Do you post all of this from your iPhone. I havent been able to justifiably even type this forums url from my iphone.

hellknight

BSD init pwns System V
@T159.. control bhai control.. we're not so fluent in English.. maana aapki english badi achchi hai.. par ye sab sar k upar se gaya.. kripya iska hindi main vyakhyan karen..

Pat

Beyond Smart
No, it isn't. You're not hacking your own copy. You're downloading a hacked copy from a third party. That right there, in and of itself, is illegal.

And did you hack your own copy of OS X on your iPhone to unlock it ? You used either third-party tools or a third party download of the firmware(pwnage) which did it. Am I right ?
Well, what I am trying to understand here is how is it illegal to use a patched copy of Leopard but legal to use a patched copy of iPhone OS X!

@hellknight
learn to play with words like Steve from Mac Ideal.
now you know how to be Steve :D:rolleyes:

Am no articulate, just a bit pissed over the ignorance and FUD these people spread.

Who stole my Alpaca!
i think a Standard EULA states that you can use, deploy and change your own copy , while cannot Recomplie or Reverse engineer it , that means hacking or experimenting your own phone or software maybe legal , while everyone knows that using MAC software on PC is Illegal ! its just like using a pirated software !

You may not and you agree not to, or to enable others to, copy (except as expressly permitted by this License), decompile, reverse engineer, disassemble, attempt to derive the source code of, decrypt, modify, or create derivative works of the iPhone Software or any services provided by the iPhone Software, or any part thereof

Is says modify int here too! Doesn't the jailbreak involve modifying software? Cause if it doesn't then disregard my post. I recall someone saying that jailbreaking is as simple as installing a crack on software which is why I assumed you needed to download some software to do the above.

Thereby I refute every arguements by a psychophant of corporates who are blindfolded by some highly corrugated EULA and says you cant own the software in first place and all kind of blasphemy.
If every single software company gave ownership of their software this industry wouldn't have been so good as it was till now. Businesses would have gone bankrupt ages ago.

Pat

Beyond Smart
Is says modify int here too! Doesn't the jailbreak involve modifying software? Cause if it doesn't then disregard my post. I recall someone saying that jailbreaking is as simple as installing a crack on software which is why I assumed you needed to download some software to do the above.

Jailbreaking and unlocking wouldnt have been possible without recompiling/reverse engineering iPhones OS X! Which means that is illegal as well!

preshit.net

ex3n1us m4x1mus
And did you hack your own copy of OS X on your iPhone to unlock it ? You used either third-party tools or a third party download of the firmware(pwnage) which did it. Am I right ?
Well, what I am trying to understand here is how is it illegal to use a patched copy of Leopard but legal to use a patched copy of iPhone OS X!

The tool is not the firmware. It is a tool that just breaks into the firmware(I'm not being technical here) and unlocks it.

It is wrong to use a patched copy of Mac OS X because you are downloading it from the iNets to be used on some other hardware. While on the iPhone, the OS is just patched on the same hardware is was supposed to be used. There is yout difference.

Pat, I'm not justifying anything. I'm just clearing this out for you.

hellknight

BSD init pwns System V
yeah shantanu ji.. in your words.. you can't recompile or reassemble it.. then what the hell is iPhone's hacked software.. it IS hacked version and re-compiled and reverse engineered version.. man you're contradicting yourself..

Pat

Beyond Smart
The tool is not the firmware. It is a tool that just breaks into the firmware(I'm not being technical here) and unlocks it.

It is wrong to use a patched copy of Mac OS X because you are downloading it from the iNets to be used on some other hardware. While on the iPhone, the OS is just patched on the same hardware is was supposed to be used. There is yout difference.

Pat, I'm not justifying anything. I'm just clearing this out for you.

I know that :) When I was talking about firmware, I meant pwnage tool :) The point is that if you are disregarding iPhones EULA and terming unlocking/jailbreaking as legal, you should not do the opposite for hackintosh systems. Thats my point. In my opinion, both the things ARE illegal :)

yeah shantanu ji.. in your words.. you can't recompile or reassemble it.. then what the hell is iPhone's hacked software.. it IS hacked version and re-compiled and reverse engineered version.. man you're contradicting yourself..

He is also saying (if I am correct) that both the things are illegal!

hellknight

BSD init pwns System V
@ Preshit.. in that case.. applying a Modchip on XBOX 360 is not illegal.. we're not hacking the software.. its on the same hardware :D :D :D :D we just add an extension..

#include<offtopic.h>
{
printf ("UNIX & Linux are banned words on XBox Live");
}

preshit.net

ex3n1us m4x1mus
I know that :) When I was talking about firmware, I meant pwnage tool :) The point is that if you are disregarding iPhones EULA and terming it as legal, you should not do the opposite for hackintosh systems as well. Thats my point. In my opinion, both the things ARE illegal :)

Uhh? I have not at all mentioned whether it is illegal or not. I have not spoken a word about it.

shantanu

EULA says : you can modify Your own Software while you cannot Reverse enginner the SETUP so if you do that its illegal as hackintosh ! if you do any hacks to your licensed Software its not illegal until and unless it is used commercially ! its technical information that gives and restrain the rights ! i guess filledvoid or other more into depth users might be able to shed light ! :)