WinXP SP1 - "NTOSKML.EXE" changed

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Nariman, Dec 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nariman

    Nariman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Am using WinXP SP1 with AVG Free Edition.
    Yesterday while running AVG I got message "NTOSKML.EXE CHANGED."
    What does it mean.
    Is ntoskml.exe a WinXP file ?
    I could not find "ntoskml.exe" in i386 directory however it listed "NTOSKRNL.EX_" Are both these files same ?
    Can some one of you experts in WinXP Pro enlighten me ?
    Regards
    Nariman
     
  2. digen

    digen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Belgaum
    The "Ntoskrnl.exe" is the kernel of Operating system[windows].

    The file is located in c:\windows\system32

    Since this is a system file try running the sfc command at the run prompt.

    Start>Run>sfc /scannow

    Note:You may need the windows xp installation disk if the files are not being cached in the dllcache folder.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Nariman

    Nariman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    WibXP SP1 - "NTOSKML.EXE CHANGED."

    Hi digen verma.
    Thanks for the info.
    However I need further help.
    As instructed executed start->run_sfc /scannow.
    After scanning Was instructed to insert the original Windows CD.
    On inserting the CD in my drive it opened with 4 options.
    1) Install Windows SP
    2) Install optional windows components
    3) Perform additional tasks
    4) check system compatibility.

    Now I am at sea. What should I do next ?
    Please help.
    Regards
    Nariman
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hmmmm
    exit
    thats the cd's menu
    we dont want that
    or do this
    put the cd in first
    exit the menu
    and THEN run sfc /scannow
     
  5. digen

    digen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Belgaum
    I've replied to your pm.Anyways exit the menu & click "retry" to continue with the restoration of files.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Nariman

    Nariman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    WinXP1 - "NTOSKML.EXE CHANGED"

    Hello digen verma.
    Thanks for your quick response.

    Tried as you suggested. Nothing happened.
    By the way the correct file is "NTOSKRNL.EXE" and not "ntoskml.exe' as errorneously reported earlier.
    Accept my apologies for gaffe.
    However on a search of my machine for "NTOS*.EXE" the following files are found.
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 1856 KB
    C:\WINDOWS\DRIVERCACHE\i386 2040 KB
    C:\WINDOWS\LASTGOOD\SYSTEM32 2040KB
    D:\i1386 968 KB EX_FILE
    AND THREE OTHER FILES LIKE C:\WINDOWS\SOFTWARE DISTRIBUTION WITH DIFFERENT SIZE.
    From the above I feel that the file size has changed from 2040KB to 1856 KB.
    Any suggestions ? Should I replace the C:\Windows\System32\ntoskrnl.exe with the one in C:\windows\lastgood\system32 ?
    Or should I expand D:\i386 EX_File ?
    I am afraid that due to the file change my grandson's game "Worms Argameddon" is not working as it should. The graphics is expanded more than the screen size. This has happened only tow three days back.
    Thanks oncemore and look forward to receiving your expert guidance

    Nariman
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    the file in c:\windows\system32 is ur current file
    so replace it with the one in the lastgood folder or the one in the DRIVERCACHE folder
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page