Windows uses 20% of your bandwidth! Get it back

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by keanu_reeves, Nov 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keanu_reeves

    keanu_reeves New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A nice little tweak for XP. Microsoft reserve 20% of your available bandwidth for their own purposes (suspect for updates and interrogating your machine etc..)

    Here's how to get it back:

    Click Start-->Run-->type "gpedit.msc" without the "

    This opens the group policy editor. Then go to:


    Local Computer Policy-->Computer Configuration-->Administrative Templates-->Network-->QOS Packet Scheduler-->Limit Reservable Bandwidth


    Double click on Limit Reservable bandwidth. It will say it is not configured, but the truth is under the 'Explain' tab :

    "By default, the Packet Scheduler limits the system to 20 percent of the bandwidth of a connection, but you can use this setting to override the default."

    So the trick is to ENABLE reservable bandwidth, then set it to ZERO. This will allow the system to reserve nothing, rather than the default 20%.
    works on XP Pro, 2k & 2k3
    other o/s not tested.
     
  2. rockyj123

    rockyj123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    r u experiencing faster download speedS?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    keanu_reeves

    keanu_reeves New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i am
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
  5. mail2and

    mail2and Walking, since 2004.

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    mmm came in digit in 2002 when xp was new
     
  6. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    98 here :p

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  7. Wizard

    Wizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai,,,TamilNadu
    And this tweak doesnt work in Win XP Home...( Too Bad )
     
  8. OP
    OP
    keanu_reeves

    keanu_reeves New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well this what i came across this and it worked for me an my friends. i am not a techie that's y i posted it here
     
  9. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    start run--gpedit.msc
    cannot find
    os winxp home + sp2
     
  10. OP
    OP
    keanu_reeves

    keanu_reeves New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is microsoft's problem not mine :p
     
  11. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    That's why I use windows ME...
    No such problem at all....
     
  12. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I can view it....:)BTW by default it was not enabled. I use Windows XP Corporate Edition !!

    With SP2 :)
     
  13. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    me too i cant see that...., use winxp(professional edition) with sp2
     
  14. silkyboy

    silkyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx bro, nice work
     
  15. svenkat83

    svenkat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Thats a shocker.Jeba,I thought your PC runs on Linux. 8) :p
     
  16. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Win 2000 HERE!!!!
     
  17. snehal_prabhu

    snehal_prabhu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i gues i knew it or atleast heard it some where before
     
  18. lavan_joy

    lavan_joy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your heart
    I tried that an year ago.
    It will increase the network speed (LAN).NOT INTERNET SPEED..
     
  19. rockyj123

    rockyj123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    network speed.... wtf....... useless....
     
  20. Ashis

    Ashis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Thanks Dude! :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page