1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Winamp turn-off the volume?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by bhush_18, Oct 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bhush_18

    bhush_18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I play a song on Winamp 5.x version after few seconds it turn-off the volume for the system & all I have to do is restart to get the volume back.
    If I play the same song on windows media player it works fine.
    Why does this happens?
    I had loaded Sound drivers from driver CD accompanied motherboard.
    :?:
     
  2. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Does it turn off the volume when a song gets over or just anytime? Have you tried a re-installation from a different source?
     
  3. krazydude

    krazydude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Follow me and I shall set u free
    Make sure your arrow keys on the keyboard are not stuck and are working fine, if they get stuck then the volume mite go down
     
  4. OP
    OP
    bhush_18

    bhush_18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Volume turns-off between the song after this no sound is available on any application, to get the volume back I have to restart the computer.
     
  5. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Uninstall it and re-install it from another source. BTW, does it hang up or just messes up the sound?
     
  6. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Ohho ... Just turn the Volume to full it wont change the volume again ...
     
  7. BlAsTeR

    BlAsTeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to get the latest winamp 5.05 from winamp.com

    Please uninstall old winamp.
    Remove winamp directory under program files.
    And then only install new version.

    Also check if any updates for your sound driver are available from manufacture's site.
     
  8. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Update the new version!
     
  9. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am assuming win98 , try these .

    - uninstall the integrated sound drivers , reboot and reinstall
    - check if u have ur speakers options set for stereo speakers , quad or 5.1 speakers in both volume control of windows and the sound card software , i'm guessing soundmax . choose the option for the speakers u have
    - check winamp preferences for input/output options
    - if ur prob continues , plz specify ur m/b and sound card specs and speakers
     
  10. OP
    OP
    bhush_18

    bhush_18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I try all the options of reinstalling the driver I still face the same problem. On further investigation I found out that after increasing the volume to certain level abt 90% the sound goes off & need a restart.

    The motherboard is of MSI KM3M & the sound driver is VIA AC'97.
     
  11. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    I guess ur mom does not like high volumes.
    Have u installed any plugins for winamp does it happen with a particular skin or so.
    From when did this start?
     
  12. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Omg, i thought id never ever see a post like this, winamp giving people problems.

    1. Reinstall Winamp [ dirty install]
    2. Play a song, minimise winamp.
    3. Check if the sound reduces.

    If yes,
    1. Uninstall winamp
    2. Delete the winamp directory (c:\program files\winamp or x:\winamp)
    3. Reeboot ur bitch.
    4. Reinstall winamp 5.05. [ here is the download link.
    Full - http://download.nullsoft.com/winamp/client/winamp505_full.exe

    Lite - http://download.nullsoft.com/winamp/client/winamp505_lite.exe ]
    I'd suggest downloadin the full version.
    5. Install this winamp to a different folder, say winamp1. or winamp5.05 or anythin u want
    6. Try it again. :)

    Besta luck
     
  13. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    disable crossfading

    i think he may have enabled his crossfading plugin in winamp.
    do one thing, just check in winamp prefs->output->crossfading..
    or moe easily, just delete the winamp.ini from ur winamp dir and restart the app..
    it should work fine..
    Best Of Luck
     
  14. OP
    OP
    bhush_18

    bhush_18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried uninstalling the sound driver & re-installing. I get a message that asks me to enable the sound card from bios. When I check the Bios its already enabled.
    What does that mean:?:
    Initially I thought this to be Winamp problem since I use it the most but later I discovery this is happening with other software as well.
     
  15. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Do u have a on board sound or is there a sound card.
     
  16. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    yap i too had the same prob....the prob may b in ur Sound card drivers..or u r using addon like SQR soft Crossfade.....etc
    my suggestion uninstall winamp..remove all traces of it fm prog files..reinstall......
     
  17. OP
    OP
    bhush_18

    bhush_18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have On board sound card of Via AC'97 also it says that it will support 6.1 ch sound but I can see only 3 pins (Line-in, Lin-out & mic) how can I connect front speakers & rear speakers I guess it will require 6 pins.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page