which ram should i add

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by nix, Dec 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    i now have a P3 866mhz , and 128 MB ram. i plan to add another 128 mb. i dont which ram i currently have. i dont know if its sd, rd, ddr or ddr2 ram. is it like , if i have sd ram , then i can only add sd ram? is ther any way of knowing which ram i have.
     
  2. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I think SD ram will work with your machine...

    and as far as i know you cannot have 2 different kind of RAMs running on same machine i.e. SD and DDR together...but I am not very sure about...ask the hardware guy..

    Deep
     
  3. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    yeah .... you are right Deep
    even RAMs of different frequcies are not preferred

    @nix ...
    you need SDRAM ..
    check the frequency of the existing RAM ( it must be written over it )
    and buy another SDRAM of same frequency ..

    as a simple thumbrule -
    p3 = sdram
    p4 = ddr

    to get more info about your motherboard and RAM ..
    download is small utility called
    cpu-z

    -----
    alibi
     
  4. OP
    OP
    nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    hi thanks for the replies. i also need to know if my mobo ( biostar M6TWL) has an AGP slot. do anyone know how i can find that out. is ther some software for that. ?
     
  5. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Re: hi

    check this - http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/
    this software will give u all the deatils about pc incl/ mobo info

    Deep
     
  6. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    Re: hi

    u can find that easily on ur manual of ur mobo...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    i never got the manual of the mobo.
     
  8. psappuin

    psappuin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    arre yaar tension nahi lene ka cabinet kolo aur dheek lo AGP slot mil gayega agar hua tou PCI slot jaisa hota hai lekin toda bada hota hai.


    Jaha tak aapki Ram ka sawal hai tou RAM nikal kar use dheeko agar single cut hai pins waali taraf tou SD hai aur double cut hai tou DDR ram hai .

    Lakin P3 mein sd hi lagti hai
     
  9. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    psappuin, sahi bola bhidu...sabe simple way wohi hai...
     
  10. OP
    OP
    nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    since mine is an old mobo, i think it'll have 4X AGP or 2X AGP. wont the performance of the game be sloppy in 4X or 2X? and if i connect the graphic card to the PCI slot, then will the performance of the game will lower?
     
  11. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    Re: hi

    Well The 4x Mobo Will give U A Pretty Decent Performance(Also Depending On The Graphics Card U Purchase will Affect Ur Gameplay) Compared to a Pci Graphics card as Pci Is The outdated One(For The Old Mobo's And not The New PCI-Express Technology)......And The Pci Graphics Card are a very hard find compared to their Agp Counterparts....Dun know if any company Still Manufactures em,Well The Performance of the Game will definetly Be low Compared to The AGP Performance..... 8)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page