Which linux to choose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinith98

Broken In
Hello people,

This is my first post on digit forum. I am a windows XP user and I want to migrate to linux. As I am completely new to linux I have decided to by a book to help me out. I found several books on Linux and so I am a bit confused on which to go in for.

Firstly I want to know to the difference between different Linux like Fedora Core, Suse, Red hat etc.. Which of this is better and also tell me which is the new version.

Also please recommend me a good book. If possible please leave on link to linux tutorial page.

Please reply,

Vinith

ambandla

Sup' dude, Sup'
You can try any of these.

Ubunu
linspire
suse
mandriva

I love suse most but you will find ubuntu most usefull as you are first time user.

ubuntu, mandriva, linspire: all these are for home-only use and are exteremly simple. They can't do well for servers.

Just browse respective sites for version number.

books: hmm. try Running Linux, 5th Edition, Oreilly.

Last edited:

PCWORM

UBERGEEK
go 4 ubuntu....
u can even try slax or dynebolic which is given with the dec2006 cds of digit....

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Just start with Knoppix live cd and learn a few things. Check out the stickies in this section.

I think u should go for ubuntu.It resembles windows a lot .Morever u can get its 6.06version at ur home for free.I hav already got.
If u want the link for free ubuntu at ur home reply me.

Last edited by a moderator:

dissel

Cyborg Agent
And here is Ubuntu Guide Book
The book is actually focused on Installing and Configaring Ubuntu for Newbies.
It is .chm format...you can easilly view it Window OS.
Or If you already running Ubuntu then you need gnome chm viewer.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gnochm

Aberforth

The Internationalist