What exactly is my VRAM?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by thetopcyborg, Sep 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey all, i hav a intel d845gl mobo with onboard video(it sux, i know)...it is intel extreme graphics with the latest graphics


    now, from the BIOS, i hv shared 8 MB for it.....and there is also an option to set AGP aperture size.......the thing is that there is no AGP port on the bord...and i dont know what happens from the aperture size...earlier it was 64mb, but there was no effect when i reduced it....

    the dxdiag shows my memory as 64 mb approx. and wome applications show it as 8mb...so what exactly is my VRAM????
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2006
  2. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Short for Video RAM, and pronounced vee-ram. VRAM is special-purpose memory used by video adapters. Unlike conventional RAM, VRAM can be accessed by two different devices simultaneously. This enables the RAMDACto access the VRAM for screen updates at the same time that the video processor provides new data. VRAM yields better graphics performance but is more expensive than normal RAM.

    A special type of VRAM, called Windows RAM (WRAM), yields even better performance than conventional VRAM.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ummm, u didn't understand my question.....i know what IS VRAM....
    i want to know HOW MUCH is my VRAM(or video memory)
     
  4. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    ur VRAM is 8 MB
     
  5. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Go to BIOS , Advanced BIOS Features, see the Onboard VGA frame buffer size.
    That will tell you exactly how much VRAM you are using.
     
  6. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's dynamic,it's borrowed from the system memory as and when required,upto a max of 64 MB.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then what's AGP aperture size? i dont hv an AGP slot..
    and then y is dxdiag showing my video mem. to be 64mb approx.?
     
  8. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    you have 845 motherboard, i guess you have 32/64 MB VRAM....
    not 8MB...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats what my dxdiag shows, that i hv 64mb approx. vram
    but there was one game in which it showed the vram reqd. and vram i have, it showed some 8mb.....im really confused...and the performance is also of 8 mb :( doesn't anyone else have a d845gl mobo?
     
  10. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I already told it is 8 MB
     
  11. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,723
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    Re: "AGP Texture Acceleration" "Not Available"

    Hey thetopcyborg I have also a mercury 845glm board. Bios shows that i can
    share maxium of 8 MB for VRAM and dxdiag shows 64 MB. But this is not my question. In dxdiag it shows that "AGP Texture Acceleration" "Not Available". Can U Plz tell me in dxdiag your "AGP Texture Acceleration" option is showing the same thing or not.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nopes, it shows me 32MB or 64MB and other memory values....i have d845glly mobo....

    and btw, i can run CS:czero nicely on my comp. except the fact that if there are 4 or more persons shooting on one screen, the game becomes sluggish...i use openGL fer that

    can i run LOTR series??? it requires 32MB memory(video)
     
  13. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ur vram is 64mb wit 8mb shared wit ur system ram.. And the agp aperture settings wont matter 4 u as its already showing u full 64mb
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page