What about Sony Vaio VGN-SR Series?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by emailaatif786, Jul 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  2. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    looks good from the eyes of the company.

    may be an average performer except to the blue ray.

    you may consider other companies HP/DELL if status dosent bother you much.

    D estroy
    E verything
    L ogically
    L opside
     
  3. OP
    OP
    emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    Someone told me that:
    "dont go with a 13.3 inch screen with that resolution, it will be wierd and many pages will be too large, if you use Firefox, then you tube videos will not all fit on that screen even."

    IS IT CORRECT? Justify?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    QUESTION NO 1:
    It has by default only 6-Cell Battery option. Can I give back that 6-Cell and with extra payment get 9-Cell battery?

    QUESTION NO 2:
    Someone told me that:
    "dont go with a 13.3 inch screen with that resolution, it will be wierd and many pages will be too large, if you use Firefox, then you tube videos will not all fit on that screen even."
    IS IT CORRECT? Justify?

    QUESTION NO 3:
    It has 64BIT OPERATING SYSTEM;
    64BIT WINDOWS VISTA
    I have tones of 32BIT Softwares and none 64BIT. Will 32BIT softwares they work on that 64BIT Operating System?

    QUESTION NO 4:
    Can i install 32BIT VISTA ULTIMATE ON IT?
     
  5. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    You can upgrade to larger battery while buying by paying extra amount. Check in Accessories section for more info.

    13" is a bit tiny when compared to 15" but advantage is portability. Go to Sony World and ask them to play youtube or other videos and you will get to know how the video playback is.

    At 2kgs, HD4570, P8700, sexy and sleek looks, this laptop is a definite head turner.

    Also, check Dell XPS 13.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    Will shopkeeper redeem that payment for 6-Cell?

    Has no fingerprint sensor?
     
  7. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    It's not like redeem. If you are paying, say 5k for a 6-cell battery, you will be paying whatever the extra cost is for a 9-cell battery. Anyways, just give a call to Sony sales support and they are better people to clear your doubts.

    Also, do check how the on-site warranty is for your locality. If Sony doesn't provide support for your locality, you better get other brand that offer on-site support to your city/town.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    They never cleared my questions! No accurate answer from them!

    Can anyone answer me:
    Qno1: It has 64BIT OPERATING SYSTEM; 64BIT WINDOWS VISTA. I have tones of 32BIT Softwares and none 64BIT. Will 32BIT softwares work on that 64BIT Operating System?

    Qno2: I have already 'Windows Vista Ultimate 32BIT Retail'. Can it be installed on it. But Whare can i get 32BIT Drivers, as there are only 64BIT Drivers on this Sony SITE for this laptop?
     
  9. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    yes. 32 bit apps will work on 64 bit

    btw, most companies are giving free upgrade to win7 when it is released. check if sony is providing the same.

    not sure, you may need to dig sony's site a bit more for 32 bit drivers.
     
  10. mpanan

    mpanan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Usually You cannot give back the 6 cell battery for 9 cell if you have used it. they charge you sometimes just for opening the box. BExt thing is talk to the sales people and get yours configured with 9 cell. on the other hand, 9 cell will look very weird on a 13.3. 6 cell will stay flush while a 9 cell will stick out. As i am imagining you are going for sony for the looks and the brand, it will damage the look of the lappie. If you want more battery, go for an integrated solution(my thinkpad t500 gives about 7+ hours battery with the integrated graphics(i have switchable graphics to get more power on the need) . if you want to game, multi task and watch movies, go for a bigger screen and chassis to handle the heat, resolution and discrete cards, but be prepared to carry more.

    It wont matter what resolution you take, it will take some time to get used to and you can work fine with that resolution. but make sure you dont get a headache to backlight LED screens because some people do get headaches. you can always zoom out the text and videos in a firefox. i have a WSXGA+ and it has tons of screen real estate

    I use vista ultimate x64 and never had a problem using any 32 bit programs. there is the WOW64 subsystem that can run any 32 bit app in the 64
    bit environment. initially i got vista ultimate 32 bit with my machine, but with premium and ultimate versions, if you buy a 32 bit OS you are eligible for a 64 bit version of the OS. If you get the media, you need to take backup of the Activation or else you need to call Microsoft for new activation, check out the "Orev's Activation Backup and Restore (ABR) program" and it is quite a pain to get the 32 bit discs from the company. i suggest you stick with 64 bit OS, you can address all the 4GB RAM, very stable, fast performing OS and half the viruses don't work on it .

    Yes you can install vista ultimate 32. why do you wan to throw away a perfectly working 64 bit vista business. in my opinion. the upgrade is quite a waste of money for some pretty useless features. all the ultimate extras are made quite in a hurry and are pretty useless .

    for 75k, you are better of with a Mac or a xps 13 with three years warranty. Also try to get into the win 7 upgrade program, so that you can get win 7 when it comes out
     
  11. OP
    OP
    emailaatif786

    emailaatif786 Always Questioning?

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Srinagar
    They told me that they do not customise their laptops.
    Not much.
    What is that? switchable graphics? Does Vaio SR46GD have?

    not prepared to carry more. i want under Laptop 2.3 KGs only.

    Will nero 9, IE8, tuneup 09, office 2009, sony vegas home, power DVD 9, etc etc work on it?

    Mac? NO NO I need Windows Based only.
    Dell xps 13 doe'snt have a FINGERPrint Security!


    Can Anyone give me any other notebook Model upto rs 80,000 better than SONY BRAND or VAIO SR46GD?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page