wat is this `CRC' error..??

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ajooba215, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajooba215

    ajooba215 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now everytime i start installing a game...it shows this `CRC' error...wat xactly does it mean..? and is there way to overcome it ... m not able to install any game i borrow frm ma frnd...
     
  2. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    ^^ the data cannot be read from the CD/DVD

    Cyclic redundancy error

    I had the same problem - but the problem with my DVD drive may be CD or Drive
     
  3. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It normally happens when you try to unzip the pirated games compressed in a rar or zip file. :D

    The only method that worked for me once is that I used my saliva to clean the CD and then run it. :D
     
  4. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    will u share ur CD's to friends ??:idea:
     
  5. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope I will never share(not because I used saliva but because they are mine.) :D
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ajooba215

    ajooba215 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but dude...i m not alking abt cd/dvds.... its with the .iso files.. :-s ....how can i cure it?
     
  7. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think your friend must have downloaded it. Sometime it become corrupt and afiak, redownloading is the only option.

    You can try one thing...open the iso with Power ISO and try copying the content manually.
     
  8. mittyr

    mittyr silentFOX

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ajooba215

    - Have you tried copying the ISO to harddisk & mounting.
    - Checked if its working on your friend's PC ?
    - Is the source torrent ?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ajooba215

    ajooba215 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea...absolutely the source is torrent....yes..i copied the iso file in my hd before mounting...and yes the installation works fine in ma frnds pc... another thing... when i download an iso file and someone copies it and tries to install in his system... the same prob occurs there... can it be smthing in usbs? while copying, the files aren`t copied properly..or is it some kinds malacious thing, corrupting files...?
     
  10. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    CRC - stands for Cyclic Redundancy Check

    It implies that there is a corrupted file on the mounted volume, like (in your case) an ISO file. In most cases, however, it means good-bye to that volume, Although I know yo can revive it, I dont really know how.
     
  11. a_k_s_h_a_y

    a_k_s_h_a_y Dreaming

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,505
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    bangalore
    it could also be corrupt file, while creating the copy.
     
  12. hjpotter92

    hjpotter92 The Boy Who Lived

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kharagpur, Rajasthan, Godric's Hollow
    I think that the disc wasn't verified
     
  13. mittyr

    mittyr silentFOX

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ajooba215

    Since the source is a torrent, you can easily check if its corrupted & repair if needed. Provided the source is still seeded.

    - Load up the "source torrent" into client & let it download to a extent till the file name appears in the "save dir". Stop the torrent.
    - Now rename the corrupt ISO to the excat name of that file.
    - In your torrent client, re-direct the "save dir" to the one this "corrupt ISO" is.
    - Once you start your torrent again, it will check your "corrupt ISO" for missing data & will download again if any missing.

    Hope this helps. Always do a "Force Re-check" once you finish downloading.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    ajooba215

    ajooba215 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey thx dear for ur help...aprreciate that.. but another thing that comes in ma mind is...the same game gets installed in every other system but it shows the CRC error while installing in ma system. i`ve noticed it several times.. :-| .. but still.. i shall follow the steps u wrote...thx again....
     
  15. Saksham ghimire

    Saksham ghimire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kathmandu,nepal
    ^^^ I remember this CRC error from old time floppies. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page