Use Local LAN and Broadband connection simulateously ???

vizkid2005

In the zone
Hey Guys ...
I am planning to get 5-10 pc`s from my building connected using lan and a d-link switch ...
The problem is ...
They want to use both lan and mtnl broadband connection at the same time ... As In, we should be able to surf net and play Counter Strike Simultaneously without having to change cables in the rear lan port ...

Can adding another lan card to each of the machine solve the problem ???

Plz help ...

Rajesh345

Youngling
*img688.imageshack.us/img688/4831/ipconfigm.jpg

u only need 1 NIC card per pc

Note : i am not a pro in networking so i might b wrong

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Yes, just configure the MTNL Modem in PPPoE mode, and get a switch(I guess that MTNL Modem doesn't have 10 LAN Ports otherwise it'd have did the job) and connect the switch to modem, and now connect your PC's to the switch.

Just follow the image posted above and everything will be fine. Just make sure to configure your modem in PPPoE mode. :)

Note : For LAN, Al the PC's need to be under same Workgroup. You can set that from Right Click on My Computer > Properties > Computer Name(tab) > Change

OP
V

vizkid2005

In the zone
See guys I`m a total noob 2 networking ...
I have absolutely no idea about networking and internet protocols ...
I don`t know what a domain is and likewise ????

Also here is a diagram ...
Will it work ???
*img189.imageshack.us/img189/2762/switcharrangement.jpg

I am on it googling ... But help from ur side will be very helpful ...

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Can you please post what you actually want to do??

That diagram is too confusing for me. And if I get it correct it won't work. Why would you connect a router to switch?? Router has diff. job than switch. Connecting a router from switch won't help you getting everything in same network.