1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Unique TV Tuner Problem (Short Circuit @ Home)

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by quad master, Aug 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quad master

    quad master New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hi All,

    My Pc Configs First
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ASUS Made Intel 440BX Mobo , P-III 450Mhz , 256 MB SD Ram ,
    Creative SB Live Value 5.1 Sound Card , D-link LAN and Modem card ,
    Nvida Riva TNT 8MB GPU , Hp Pavilion Monitor

    I got a new Mercury TV Tuner Card and it works fine at my friends
    place but a very funny problem happens at my place.

    As soon as i plug in the cable wire into the jack at the back of my
    Tv Tuner and at the jack in the wall a short circuit happens in my home
    and all the lights are switched off i just dont know what should i do.

    But when i watch TV on that same cable wire plugged in the same
    jack in my wall it works fine.

    No problems with TV but problems with TV Tuner Card.

    I hope so that you are getting my problem

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Knowledge is a power.
    Share It.
    Let Others also feel it.

    - Quad Master
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    How can a cable wire be connected to your home wiring!!!!!!

    Check your wiring mate!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    quad master

    quad master New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I think so that you are not getting my problem.
    I am talking about the Cable wire which you connect to your TV Set.

    Isnt the same wire connected to your TV Tuner Card on your PC to watch
    TV on your PC.

    That is the wire i am talking about.
     
  4. Naga

    Naga New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Itanagar
    Get ur wiring checked out. Nothing wrong with the card.
     
  5. Kannan

    Kannan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    Check your PC's Earthing !!!.

    Generally PC's have an earth point.

    Where as except for some brands the other TV's have only two points.

    If you have a circuit breaker in your power systems, the breaker will switch of the power supply if it sense a little amount of power in your earth line.

    So check your earthing !!
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    quad like nikhil said ... ur cable wire has nuthin to do with the electricity at ur place
    it only has the tv signal
    yes there are surges that might just damage ur computer. .. but nuthin of the sort that can "short" ur home wiring causing it to shut down
    so like nokhil said
    get ur wiring checked .. theres something seriiioooussllyy wrong
     
  7. KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also check if ur dish cable is having some current on it. Contact ur cable operator
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page