Ulaan Bataar

RChandan

Broken In
Holy ****, today is d day. I've been covering South Korean clients for my employer for the last 4-5 years. I know the place inside out, the culture and the various ins and outs that can come with years of experience.

And now, I've been assigned to Ulaan Bataar for the next 1 year for the sake of diversification of experience? When my manager told me, I was like WTF? I can't even say "hello" in Mongolian! Deaf ears, as expected in the corporate world.

Ok, here's a question for you all: Who has some idea of the land of Chinggis Khan, and anyone with first hand experience? (Our first clients who I'm about to meet are a mobile comm company).

Ulaan Bataar......man, who'd have thought. The only good thing I've heard so far is that I can go on a 11,000 KM train ride across the trans-siberian railway, which also runs through UB. Yeah right, like Metro 2033 isn't nearly as entertaining! And I have friends who are headed for Phoenix, Arizona. :(

confused

Evolving Rapidly...
Hey chill man, take it as an adventure man! Now many of us would ever go to Ulaan Batar? Much fewer than those who would go to the US! Plus since its only 1 yr, just enjoy it!

I have seen Ulan Batar in Lonely Planet, and well IIRC it was quite interesting!

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------

what do u do btw?? your line of work seems attractive to me, I want the Up in the Air kinda life too!

OP
R

RChandan

Broken In
I'm a mobile app developer (symbian/iphone/windows, 6 years). Prior to that I was working on embedded systems (mc control and firmware development, 2 years).

"I want the Up in the Air kinda life too!"