Ubnutu installed fine hangs after booting

Status
Not open for further replies.

ranjan2001

Cyborg Agent
I am a linux newbie, this is 1st time I have installed linux
Ubnutu Ultimate Edition 1.8 x64 from *forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=882&sid=e76ba19edb35bd01e1ac8e38f67e6120

I burned the dvd at 4x & tried booting from live cd, it boots fine but shows me a tiled desktop on my 20inch wide screen (1680x1050) with geforce 7600GT card. On booting it remains hang if I click on any thing with mouse nothing comes up.

I then installed it within windows on a separate partition but the same problem again persist. It boots fine, shows me a tiled desktop, the right side of the desktop is cut & shown on extreme left instead. I log in with user ID & password after that I cant do any thing , I cant even shut down by press alt+Ctrl+delete the window comes up but the mouse click wont respond at all, I have to hard boot the comp.

I took a screen shot & that shows untiled desktop instead *forumubuntusoftware.info/images/smilies/icon_eek.gif *forumubuntusoftware.info/images/smilies/icon_eek.gif
Nothing on boot works the system seems to be in a hang state, I left it for 10 mins but no response hence I have to do a hard boot.

My installation was flawless all went fine, could something else go wrong? I guess I need to install nvidia drivers for setting wide screen resolution but I cant do that since on boot it hangs & mouse shows but clicks don't respond.

My hardware spec below.
Ultimate 1.8 x64 edition.
Asus P5B-dlx-wifi
Intel c2duo E6300
xfx-7600GT graphic card
1x4GB ram, 800 mhz 5-5-5-18

Need help in making it run smoothly.

JGuru

Wise Old Owl
@Ranjan, You must install the "Official Ubuntu Desktop Edition" 8.04 (64-bit)
Download it from here : *releases.ubuntu.com/hardy/ubuntu-8.04-desktop-amd64.iso

Download it, burn & boot from the CD. Let's see how things go.
If your problem persists then you should go for "Alternate CD".

OP
R

ranjan2001

Cyborg Agent