Stuck with FC5- Please Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

src2206

In the zone
Hi Friends,

I'm completely new to linux and installed FC5 in my system's Primary slave 2nd HDD. The other operating system I have is Win XP Pro in the Primary Master 1st HDD. There are some partitions in both my HDD in NTFS and some are in FAT32. The Linux is in a partition formatted as ext3 filesystem.

My problems are:

1. When I try to mount any of the other partitions I get a error massege at the terminal
window. I checked the folder /dev/by-label, all the partitions are showing but all of them
with a RED round mark (striked at the middle, obliquely). So can Linux access NTFS and
FAT32? If not then how can I access?

2. When I try to run "ADD/REMOVE SOFTWARES" it opens up an window showing 'retrieving..."
[exact words I do not remember] and then after a minute or so it shows a Error massege
"softare informations could not be retrieved". I used CDs to install and all of them were
tested OK by the Fedora's inbuilt checking utility.

3. I can't use the "fdisk -l" (EL) comand. It shows an error massege that "bash:command
could not be found". I'm not sure whats happening.

In all the above cases I was logged as a ROOT ADMINISTRATOR.

So could someone please help me?

Thank you.

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Hope you gave fdisk -l without the double quotes.
To mount the partition temporarily, give command
Code:
mount /dev/<partition name>
For doing this everytime automatically you will have to edit /etc/fstab. But, AFAIK FC5 does automount the partitions.
Linux can write to fat32 partition but you need some tools like ntfs-static or ntfs-3g. But, these tools are in beta so I don't recommend them to you as you're new to Linux.
Well IMO, you should rather try SMART instead of PIRUT to add/remove/update software. I am using SMART on Suse currently and find it really good.
You can get SMART from here *wraptastic.org/pub/i386-linux/RPMS/. Other good tools are apt and yum.