Strange XP Problem

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by saurabh.sauron, Sep 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i recently got this problem. i reinstalled XP. then when i tried to open opera, it didnt open. none of the programs were opening and there was no error message. even the task manager was not opening. i tried logging off but it hung midway. no executable file opens. i reinstalled XP but the program reoccurred. then i installed XP from a different CD but that didnt help things either. it's strange that ubuntu is working perfectly fine...

    can it be problem with the hard disk or the windows partition?
    thnx
     
  2. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Did you repair your windows xp ? or clean install ?
     
  3. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Have you tried running the files in safe mode?

    Arun
     
  4. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Did u try to run the programs just after reinstalling windows, i.e., before connecting to the net?

    may be its happening due to some virus?
     
  5. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    c if u can work in safe mode. if not then i think u will have to do a clean reformat/reinstall. remember always : b4 connecting to the internet, first install an av and update it.
     
  6. champ_rock

    champ_rock champ_rock

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth , near the equator
    do a complete format.. if there is a virus then it will not be removed if you do a repair or even soem upgrade..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i always did a complete format.
    secondly, everything works perfectly in safe mode.
    there is something that i noticed while booting ubuntu. it showws Buffer I/O error on hda. i think my windows (NTFS) partition is corrupt. that might explain ubuntu working perfectly fine.
     
  8. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Why dont you run HijackThis from Safe Mode and post it here... It could be a persistent malware... Though I am not sure if it is possible for the malware to persist beyond a format...

    Also, run a thorough scandisk on the NTFS partitions.

    Then, run a SFC

    Arun
     
  9. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Do you have two HDDs and Ubuntu is installed on second drive? If yes then most probably the first Hard Disk is going bad and not just the partition. If it was just a partition, it would have given you a partition number. If is is whole device..it means whole hard disk. Do check thoroughly.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    well....
    i called my engineer. he deleted temp files, two other temp folders and the problem fanished...IN FIVE MINUTES.....
    :sheepish:
    well, i dont know how those temp files came. even the engineer couldnt explain it. i think that the problem is coz of my less disk space. upgrading to 80GB from 20GB.
     
  11. the deconstructionist

    the deconstructionist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chasing new ideas
    For 20GB space two OS is too congested.
     
  12. Ramakrishnan

    Ramakrishnan The Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It is beter that you are upgrading to 80GB. Otherwise you may again face the same problem again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page