Strange Disk Checking Error.

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Debu_013, Jul 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Debu_013

    Debu_013 Freshly Churned Chutny :)

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    For the past few days my computer is prompting to check one of my partitions each time the computer is switched on or restarted.

    Even after running Disk Check in Through mode no problems were found but still every time I switch on the computer I am prompted to scan the same disk drive.

    Please HELP!!!!
    Suggest ways to remove the message, as its getting irritating.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2009
  2. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Go to Start>Run>Type cmd and press enter.

    run the command below

    chkdsk <volumename> /F

    Eg. chkdsk C: /F

    Ths'll fix ny errors in tat partition. Hope ths'll solve ur prblm.
     
  3. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Run a surface scan for bad sectors.
     
  4. paroh

    paroh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    First do what krishnandu.sarkar and pimpom tell u.
    And
    If ur drive is ok. U can disable the chkdsk just download the disablecheckdisk.reg file and double click on it and merge it into the registry(FOR WINDOWS XP)

    Code:
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/disablecheckdisk.reg
     
  5. pr.itdude

    pr.itdude tHe nEw gEEk......ITian

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    @Debu,
    hey buddy........do u use Kaspersky IS.....???
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Debu_013

    Debu_013 Freshly Churned Chutny :)

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    Yes, "pr.itdude"

    I do use Kaspersky Internet Sercurity 2007. Have been using it for the past 1.5 years.
     
  7. pr.itdude

    pr.itdude tHe nEw gEEk......ITian

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ok, then the catch here it is, u may b using *pirated* version of KIS........so wats goin now, as i feel is that instead of blocking the key (pirated as got on net), they r blocking the services provided in the suit. Check if the File & memory protection is by default ON when u start the system. If not, then this is the fault -- either change ur key or uninstall the KIS and then reboot twice, and go for complete disk check once again. Its better to complete scan the system, and carefully delete a infected file.

    This may be wrong, but try installing some other antivirus or IS suite.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Debu_013

    Debu_013 Freshly Churned Chutny :)

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    KIS never showed this type of error before. I think it all started when i used System Recovery to recover to a previous state. Because of a spyware infection which caused the program folders in the start menu to be deleted.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page