SMPS Replacement

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by RCuber, Sep 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    We have a C2Q6600 based computer which we run as a server (Windows 2008), We need to replace the SMPS on it. a 400-500W SMPS should do. Can any one recommend me a good SMPS for system stability. budget 2-3K
     
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
  3. MSR@THNIK

    MSR@THNIK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get corsair cx400 or seasonic 380w minimum costs rs 3k to 3.2k
    if you would the give full config we can advice better
     
  4. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Extreme Power would be a problem! Stick with corsair! Probably the best PSU brand around! Do you have a GPU? If yes, which one?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Here is the system config.
    Intel C2Q 6600
    Intel GD45ID - Motherboard
    4 GB RAM
    17" Dell Monitor
    Two Segate 250 GB SATA HDD
    USB Modem (Teltonika G10) (Always connected)
    Mercury 400W SMPS.

    The server is connected to our main 3KVA UPS which give backup of minimum 2 hrs for 5 PC's
     
  6. Mr.Digital

    Mr.Digital New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :idea:Go for only Corsair 400W Power Supply (CX400W) only.
     
  7. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Corsair CX400
     
  8. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    You don't have a GPU?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    ^^ No.

    I will check out the price of Corsair CX400.
     
  10. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    I don't think will not need anything greater than 250W
    Intel C2Q 6600 - 110W
    Intel GD45ID - Motherboard - 30W
    4 GB RAM - 20W
    Two Segate 250 GB SATA HDD - 20W
    USB Modem (Teltonika G10) (Always connected) - 10W
     
  11. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    But the thing is there is no model available for 250W usage from the reliable brands!
     
  12. bigdaddy486

    bigdaddy486 Guest

    why is it that local models are cheaper at .5k while others are @ 2-3k?
    i can understand tat they r branded but why this much huge difference?
    is tthere anything special?
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    why is it that local models are cheaper at .5k while others are @ 2-3k?
    i can understand tat they r branded but why this much huge difference?
    is tthere anything special?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2009
  13. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  14. OP
    OP
    RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Thanks for the updates guys. I will purchase a Corsair CX400.

    @Mods , please close this thread.
     
  15. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Its probably because the costly ones are imported maal .
     
  16. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    The capacitors Japanese solid state capacitors, not the Chinese one's local one's use, which last a lot longer than the Chinese one's, hence they are reliable and safe! Plus, better build quality!
     
  17. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but anyhow there is someone who is not good maths, and has lesser understanding of cheap, and decent price, you cannot just say that being imported they are costlier.

    zebronics is also a local brand and manufactures good quality product and is priced compared to those imported products.

    @bigdaddy486, as hell_storm said, good electronic components used, add to it better warranty than local products which offer max of 6 months, and infact their warranty is no good warranty. whereas good PSU brands give you a minimum of 3 year of warranty. and some giving 5 year
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page