sabayon 5.3 linux need help

shiwa436

Broken In
A Complete newbie to Linux now with Mint10 julia

Hi guys, just a few minutes back, i have a chance to get the Sabayan 5.3 linux distros provided with some magazine. it contains three image files of 654mb, 1.6gb, 1.7gb sizes. which one should i pick? and do I need any driver packages for sound. I am using elite groups GT31 M7 mobo with 1GB ram

Last edited:

doomgiver

Warframe
Re: sabayan 5.3 linux need help

depends upon what is inside those files.
maybe its just different packages inside.
did it contain any documentation, if yes, then read it first.

nims11

BIOS Terminator
Hi guys, just a few minutes back, i have a chance to get the Sabayan 5.3 linux distros provided with some magazine. it contains three image files of 654mb, 1.6gb, 1.7gb sizes. which one should i pick? and do I need any driver packages for sound. I am using elite groups GT31 M7 mobo with 1GB ram

Its the LINUX FOR YOU 's October 2010 magazine from what i can guess. they gave sabayon 5.3. the DVD has 3 isoz-

Sabayon_Linux_5.3_x86_G.iso 1.54GB
Sabayon_Linux_5.3_x86_K.iso 1.89GB
Sabayon_Linux_5.3_x86_LXDE.iso 615MB

All are the same but differ in the preinstalled Dektop environment,
the first one has GNOME, the second one has KDE and the third one has LXDE.
The first two are recommended if you have a pretty decent configuration..
if you have a slow computer, install the third one which has LXDE which is a lightweight desktop environment(i prefer Xfce over LXDE as a lightweight alternative).

OP
shiwa436

shiwa436

Broken In
Just ran the OS in liveCD mode. But when trying to open other other volumes in my HDD, a message reading " Connot mount volume...", invalid mount option when attempting to mount the volume 'New Volume (E)'

What to do? Help me please..

nims11

BIOS Terminator
try this,