RAM

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by vysakh, Nov 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    recently i read somewhere that we should not use second hand RAM. is it true???
     
  2. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    yes...unless u know the dealer extremely well usage of second hand RAMS is not at all advisable as you can be cheated easily.
     
  3. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well using second hand ram is no problem if the module is what u want.
    The risk is when you are buying it cos its very easy to be conned.
     
  4. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    get the ram run memtest an it for 12 hrs if pass it is as good as new
     
  5. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  6. Saharika

    Saharika New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well

    well isnt it the thing that either it works or not
    i think its all the rumor out of some hardware house
    well are there any snags using second hand things
    well it is abvoius that 2nd hand things may not assemble well or maynot be durable
    well may be
    thks
    saha
     
  7. Aseem Nasnodkar

    Aseem Nasnodkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panaji - Goa
    noprobs with 2nd hand RAM.
    When it comes to old pc's with SDRAM compatibility which has vanished from the markets... u need that pinch!
     
  8. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    No one should be that confident 'bout a second hand electronic product! Trust me!
     
  9. Aseem Nasnodkar

    Aseem Nasnodkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panaji - Goa
    i know but wats the use of a gun with no bullets?
    Withouth RAM u don't have the space to breathe too!
    Just a little care in buying n u get all wat u need.
     
  10. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Yes. But then you'll have to totally depend on your luck. There's no way of doing a quick test on a RAM module while buying it (at least I don't know of any). The memtest link given above takes about 30hrs approximately to complete checking a 256MB module.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page