1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Railwire Broadband

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by meetdilip, May 15, 2017.

  1. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Do you have the latest plans from Railwire ? Anyone can share the list ? It is not available on their website, yet.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2017
  2. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    Then how did you know about them?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Local cablewala gave those plans. That's the same in most circles. They website still shows the old plans.
     
  4. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    Here we have crap plans even from Railwire. 1 Mbps costs around 800-900 I think. Not worth the hassle compared to BSNL broadband.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That has been reversed. You get around 10 Mbps for that price now.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    New tariff has been updated on Railwire official website.

    1 Mbps UL starts at ₹ 499
     
    sling-shot likes this.
  7. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu El Directo!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,019
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
  8. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    I do not see that plan. The maximum available is 4 Mbps. (I am looking only at pure unlimited plans)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Not updated / available for Karnataka. Check TN and a few others
     
  10. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You can't expect 10 Mbps without FUP at that range.
     
  11. chris

    chris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My BSNL get disconnected like once every month, BSNL guys take 1 day to fix this and i have to wait for them, use 3G etc.. If anyone using RailWire, how do you compare it to BSNL ?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Depends a lot on your cable provider. I have some downtime. But, nothing worse.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    There is news that BSNL is going to respond to Jio Fiber. Will Railwire do the same ?
     
  14. chris

    chris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, i decided to go with RailWire because of FTTH. If its working, i will get my BSNL disconnected. It is old cable, that cause problems. With FTTH, they have better signal meter and tools, so they can identify problems, unless it is rail wire itself problem,

    Kerala have new FTTH plans

    http://www.kerala.bsnl.co.in/FTTH/ftth_tariff.aspx

    But only few bigger cities have FTTH, even there i am not sure many knows about this FTTH, so many use normal DSL.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2017
  15. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Let's see how Railtel responds. Their responding rate reminds me of govt. share in the company. They are not fast responding to market changes.

    Can we assume if we get Jio 4G, Jio fiber is around ?
     
  16. chris

    chris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Railtel will be like BSNL, they can't change fast like a private business. Hope JIO can get cable operators switch from RailTel to JIO Fiber.

    I don't think Jio Fiber will do national level roll out as it need much more investment and lesser return than 4G.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Jio is big fish. They do not need local operators. More cost effective and control when they handle it through their staff.
     
  18. Abishek Ram Chandilya

    Abishek Ram Chandilya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am using Railwire Broadband for over 6 months now. It's really good considering the fact that it's only replacement available in my area for the slow stuttering BSNL connection. I was paying nearly 1500 for 2 Mbps connection when i was using BSNL and frequent disconnection made me search for different option. I was little scared when i first tried Railwire. But i would say, It's best here in my area. The Operator is good as there is no frequent disconnection of Broadband. I am currently using 100 GB @ 20Mbps connection for 949 rupees. See the difference here compared to BSNL and i am really happy to switch the Railwire.
     
  19. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    Railwaire provides connection through adsl modem like bsnl or through local cable operator ?
     
  20. chris

    chris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am using RailWire, switched from BSNL to railwire 2 months back. They provide FTTH. It is provided by local cable operator. I am happy with RailWire, BSNL i have many failures, these guys don't care, when i have a frequent disconnect problem, i book, then they completely mess up the line for working, they just disconnect the line or something, so i don't get internet for a day, then they fix it next day. It is more of an OLD cable problem, lack of cable etc... With FTTH, they have tools to check signal strength etc.. so you will have less problems related to line issues.

    So far i had 2 disconnects with RailWire, one i called cable operator, he said railwire issue, everyone have problem, that got resolved in like 2 hours. Last issue was yesterday like 1:30 AM in morning, that got resolved when i wake up in morning. I think this is more related to heavy rain here.
     
    topgear likes this.

Share This Page