Problem with Redhat linux 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

hard_rock

Salieri Family
Hey Guyz....................
I recently got installed Red hat Linux(Fedora core 1).......I am completely new to it........I want to connect to internet using my DFM-560ES (Dlink) external modem.I chose generic modem.........but after clicking the activate button it shows tht it could not activate tht device with error 2.........the help file didn't gave me much info abt this.......also I checked the ISP details I entered in it........But nothin wrong with tht.....
Also I have win98se,win xp home.I installed RHL 10 and the bootloader was GRUB....But now when I reinstalled win98se the bootloader is changed back to DOS...........The first one b4 installing linux......thank god i have bootable disk with me..but how to bring back the Grub loader.......

phpBB Bug:

I searched 4 "configure modem in linux" n I got this
Could not obtain matched posts list

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1030 Got error 134 from table handler

SELECT m.post_id FROM phpbb_search_wordlist w, phpbb_search_wordmatch m WHERE w.word_text LIKE 'linux' AND m.word_id = w.word_id AND w.word_common <> 1

Line : 303
File : /usr/local/php4/htdocs/thinkdigit/forum/search.php
Could not obtain matched posts list

pradeep_chauhan

Cyborg Agent
Hey I use the same modem and the same distro for my firewall + internet gateway and router without any problem. The point to remember in this case is alwase switch on the modem before starting your linux box. then there will be no problems try this if it does not work please let me know we will solve the issue.

tuxfan

Technomancer
To bring back the GRUB loader, just boot from the 1st Fedora CD and go on as if you are installing it for the first time. It will recognise that Fedora is already installed and give you an option to load GRUB only without disturbing the existing installations.