Problem with Dual Boot Win 7 & XP

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by furious_gamer, Nov 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    After installing the Windows 7 after XP, the ntldr and ntdetect.com files of XP seems to be missing. Tried copying it from Windows XP CD using Recovery Console, but still i am unable to enter into XP.

    Also installed the EasyBCD and tried all possible solutions, and still problem persists. Tell me guys what should be the closest solution to this....:cry:
     
  2. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    well i installed the same a week ago but without any problems
    i dont think its a general problem...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Well even i installed it previously w/o any problem. This only happens when i re-installed my Win 7 over the existing one(as of some system32 files corrupted). So i guess the update cause some problems to XP's boot file. I tried all the way (even a fixboot cmd in recovery console) still no use.
     
  4. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    when then u could probably re-install them....
     
  5. aswin1

    aswin1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try repair option from windows XP cd to repair winXP then repair win7 using vistabootpro.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    :cry:

    Well try to re-install XP if there is no sign of solutions for this..

    Dude, i've already tried this.
     
  7. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    common bro dont be sad....
    its just a matter of 1 hr....:D
     
  8. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    installing the OS doesnt take more than 20 mins but installing the reqd s/w seems to be the pain in the a$$. Even forgot to take the image backup, which in this case help to restore to an earlier point w/o any hassle...:sad:
     
  9. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    well i meant including the softwares... coz i keep them really organised :D
     
  10. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am a Marketing manager cum Web Developer. So think of number of softwares i need to install....:-| Its around 50 of them like Photoshop/Dreamweaver CS3, XAMPP,WebLogic,VS2008 etc.
     
  11. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    ok ok...thats quite biggie...
    anyways then why dont u just stick with win 7 didn't like it
     
  12. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Nah, Tally 7.1 isn't working with Win 7. One thing that still make me hold of XP... :razz:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^ Anyone with the solution????? Please guys i need XP badly....:sad:
     
  14. papul1993

    papul1993 not a newbie.....

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Assam
    Boot from the xp cd and go to recovery console then try fixboot. do the same with win7. i think thats gonna help.
     
  15. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    then u better use a virtualos type of software next time u wanna play with some windows :lol:
     
  16. vamsi360

    vamsi360 Always confused

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Garden City
    dont worry dude...its easy.

    install Vista Boot Pro

    Configure the bootloader.

    Thats it.

    EasyBCD currently is not as functional as it used to in Vista.


    Meanwhile, why dont you try Windows Xp Mode RTM in 7 Professional/Ultimate? I really like it. I use Rational Rose old copy in XP mode for activity diagrams.
     
  17. dreams

    dreams Gracias Senor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Heven & Hell
    Bootloader of XP is corrupt. Insert the XP CD. Goto repair option, provide your admin password so you can get the c:\ Then type the following in order,

    fixmbr
    bootcfg /scan
    bootcfg /rebuild
    fixboot

    This should fix. If needed, try the same in 7 too.

    I do this many a times, once after installing Vista, once after installing Paragon software, which created some bootloader with no options :(

    Try it and let us know.
     
  18. nithinr6

    nithinr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you copy those files to the root drive of the disk on which Windows XP is installed ?
     
  19. OP
    OP
    furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I have heard that modifying mbr may cause data loss or partitions could get deleted. Is that true? Or just a mighty fake Myth?
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    Will give it a try and post here......;-)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  20. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Nope......fixmbr command wont del ur partition. None of ur data will b lossed. Dont worry.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page