ok so im new to overclocking.

i am running a Q8200 at 2.8Ghz from 2.33Ghz
motherboard is msi p45 platinum
i currently have 2*1 GB DDR2 800mhz transcend ram

now here is the setup
i am running at a mem divider of 1:1
so the fsb is set at 400 x 7 = 2.8ghz
rams running at 800mhz

i want to get some more juice out of the system. i want to get it up to atleast 3Ghz
till now 2 things were limiting me
1. the motherboard .supposedly supports only 1600fsb. this has been fixed(supposedly) with a bios update. but yet to be tested

2. the rams. the rams are already running at their maximum rated frequency of 800Mhz

what i would like to know is, would i be able to raise the freq of the ram some more to say 900mhz ? by applying additional voltage?
cause if i can then i would be able to achieve about 3.1Ghz

also any advice u would like to give me regarding anything i should keep in mind while overclocking ... fire away (this is my first time overclocking)

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member
Search forum before you post.

You can push that q8200 to 3GHz. Set the fsb to 440.
So it would be be 440*7 = 3080Mhz or 3GHZ~.

Set mem divider of 1:1. So your Ram will be running @ 880 Mhz. This is 10% OC of your ram & it's quiet safe. Generally you don't need to increase voltage for this 10% mem OC.

If you have stability prob increase mem voltage to 1.85,1.9,1.95 ( I think it's the safe limit for value rams - If you're using those )

OP
F

fuzzz

Broken In
errm topgear
thanks for the suggestions. srry my bad i didnt search :s

amitash
im using a cooler master hyper 212
load temp was going to 68 :| on prime. i have to go and get up arctic silver 5 tom currently using the thermal paste provided with the cooler by cooler master

btw after i have updated the bios last night, my previous overclocking setting were destroyed.
and now for some reason i am not able to get those setting to work.