Official Samsung Spica Discussion Thread

sriharsha_madineni

Go for it now, you can upgrade to 2.1 anytime :)

---------- Post added at 08:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 PM ----------

OT@Vulpine

Harsha, saw your post on TE :p looks like no one bothered about your post there na. That is why I avoid it.

Incredible Hulk

Hulk Smash!
I'd like to ask one more thing about the android OS. Is it something like windows which remains standard no matter what computer u use or is it customized to suit the mobile? What I mean to say is that, is the version of android used in the spica same as that of the one used in HTC phones or in the motorola milestone?

sriharsha_madineni

Basically, Everything is same except some minor modifications to the UI.
Samsung uses its own Keyboard and Pantheon homescreen, While HTC uses it own Sense UI with a few modifications of their own and the OS is optimized to that specific mobile, say you can't use HTC Hero's Firmware with Samsung Spica though both run on the same version of Android OS. Apart from those minor changes most of it is same.

Incredible Hulk

Hulk Smash!
Basically, Everything is same except some minor modifications to the UI.
Samsung uses its own Keyboard and Pantheon homescreen, While HTC uses it own Sense UI with a few modifications of their own and the OS is optimized to that specific mobile, say you can't use HTC Hero's Firmware with Samsung Spica though both run on the same version of Android OS. Apart from those minor changes most of it is same.

what about apps/ games? can apps/ games for motorola or htc run on spica? Could u also direct me to a good video on youtube which shows gameplay and other features of the spica?

sriharsha_madineni

Apps are common for all the phones, So don't worry :)
just a few apps are model specific.

Don't expect iPhone like games on Android. Android games look Jurassic when compared with iPhone games. But there are a few decent games on Android too. Just do a google search man :))

vulpine

what about apps/ games? can apps/ games for motorola or htc run on spica? Could u also direct me to a good video on youtube which shows gameplay and other features of the spica?

*www.youtube.com/user/Goudie35
this guy has all videos demonstrating games on spica. Graphics aren't that good. Any way check 'em out. And there are 2 or 3 other videos. Just search.
There's no spica video on youtube that I 've nt seen....lol....:grin:

----------------
@suchit

I stay in hyderabad. Still I have few shops to cover and find out. If I dont find it here, planning to get it from ebay.

OT@Vulpine

Harsha, saw your post on TE :p looks like no one bothered about your post there na. That is why I avoid it.

ha ha....U 've seen it!!....I wrote a long post and no replies :-o

sachitgul

*www.youtube.com/user/Goudie35
this guy has all videos demonstrating games on spica. Graphics aren't that good. Any way check 'em out. And there are 2 or 3 other videos. Just search.
There's no spica video on youtube that I 've nt seen....lol....:grin:

----------------
@suchit

I stay in hyderabad. Still I have few shops to cover and find out. If I dont find it here, planning to get it from ebay.

ha ha....U 've seen it!!....I wrote a long post and no replies :-o

sorry i tht u stay in mumbai...
and

rofl..
its sAchit not sUchit...

:p

vulpine

@suchit ooops sachit
My bad!!! don't mind!!

*www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFbtoIfy8-s

This is speed forge 3d on spica
If U observe, the phone is really struggling!! the video is not smooth and it stutters. The same game I 've checked on G1 and magic plays marginally better

*www.youtube.com/watch?v=cK_d-8Cohvg

arunks

Hey here is the aks
@SRIHARSHA
can u plz guide me in upgrading my spice from 1.5 android to 2.1 version with latest official firmware from samsung, i think its i570EXXJD1 (which i have already downloaded)

plz provide me steps or link to the steps so that i can easily upgrade to 2.1

I have read full thread here and got some links from your posts which lead to samdroid.net posts and there i got info that it can done by odin etc.

but i m not able to get the proper procedure to do it.
and also do i need to do rooting also...

Please guide me.

sriharsha_madineni

@Arun
Dude I have an exam tomorrow kinda busy now.

goto page 5 of this thread. you have all the info you need and a short tutorial on it.

---------- Post added at 11:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:50 PM ----------

Spice again :p

---------- Post added at 11:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:52 PM ----------

Spice again :p
You own this phone man don't spell it wrong ;)

arunks

Hey here is the aks
ok thanx Sriharsha... i will try from page 5 ..

and

for sorry for the spicy spice spica :D

donno why i type spice :p :)

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------

@Sriharsha..

i tried from page5 and subsequent links but i m not able to understand fully..

i read in one of odin guides

We set your phone to the Downloader mode
Click once:

voldown+cam+switching-on

but how to do that... not able to continue :(

Please give me procedure here step by step whenver u get free time...

It will help other users also..

thanx in advance sriharsha. :)

vulpine

)

I think you should press and hold "volume down" and "camera" buttons and switch on the device. then it enters the download mode.

Symbian phones used to have much weird key combination to hard format them!

jain_pranav

A new asian firmware has been released with 2.1 eclair (samsung firmware site..nt officialy :p).
All those u hv already flashed,cn u plz try tht firmware n giv ur opinions.
Thanks.

sachitgul

A new asian firmware has been released with 2.1 eclair (samsung firmware site..nt officialy :p).
Thanks.

since we have already flashed and u havnt it would be better if u flash it and tell
us your opinions about it..

i will be waiting for another month to flash again..
will see if a better firmware comes by..

who knws even 2.5 mite come out..

:p

jain_pranav

Ya i'l surely flash n tell..
im just waiting for my clat exam to gt over on 9th May..
Coz dont want any prob 2 cum 2 my phone b4 tht i dont gt tym 2 solve it :p
Itz so difficult 2 resist flashing to 2.1 :(

vulpine

I got some info from samsung official on spica
They have stopped sending spicas to retail outlets and probably they would restore it after official 2.1 upgrade is available
The reason was few early adopters were complaining about lack of basic features(BT, camera options.etc..) which are available in 2.1. So, they thought its wise to promote and sell a 2.1 equipped spica.

So, only leftout stocks are available at outlets. Is spica so popular in HYD?? almost no stock at many dealers : (

jain_pranav

Itz abt being popular in hyd dude..i guess samsung rolled oyr vry few phones in evry city.
Coz here in delhi also,all stocks were finished 3 weeks back.

sriharsha_madineni

ok thanx Sriharsha... i will try from page 5 ..

and

for sorry for the spicy spice spica :D

donno why i type spice :p :)

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------

@Sriharsha..

i tried from page5 and subsequent links but i m not able to understand fully..

i read in one of odin guides

Please give me procedure here step by step whenver u get free time...

It will help other users also..

thanx in advance sriharsha. :)

Switch off your phone and then switch it on while holding volume down+ camera button simultaneously.

ankitsagwekar

Thanks.

I570EDXJC4 requied New .ops file

first time when i flash it show me 0.0MB space on my phone memory so not able to install any software . after some searching i solve problem by
fix it with odin flash with old ops (spica.ops) and use boot, phone, csc from DXJB3 (tick reboot, protec ops, reset time, DEBUG ONLY and PDA FORMAT) after the phone restart.. wait till samsung appear then turn it off. go to download mode again and now flash again with FW DXJC4. use NEW OPS (tick one package, reboot, protect ops, reset timer) WITHOUT DEBUG ONLY..
FW is good i use it since last three days and no problem with it

i root this FW by LK2.02 - Root, Recovery

remove Samsung keyboard and home screen and install helix launcher + HTC IME

i m going to create new thread for this device because author of this thread not updating first page.