Noob Linux User

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ecko

Wandering In Tecno Land
We'll i just thought of moving to Linux from Windows
I need a liitle help

Need a linux which requires no terminal commands (yes I'm fed up by terminal)
A very very good & customizable GUI
GUI for doing everything (ex configuring Internet Connection)

A friend of mine reconed me OS PCLINUX
What you guyz say

I tried Ubuntu
Though installaton was preety easy I just gave up soon (yah I'm a noob)
Please don't comment about this atleast

CadCrazy

in search of myself
Ubuntu is easiest of them all.
Offtopic How many kilometers do you have to travel from Suse to Ubuntu :D

Rahim

Married!
My goat goes to Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon" bcoz of
1. Great Community
2. Very User Friendly OS (OpenSuse is also good but Ubuntu's community is veryyy bigggg)

On Second Thought, Well Linux Mint is also very good as pointed out by shady

Last edited:

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!
Need a linux which requires no terminal commands (yes I'm fed up by terminal)
A very very good & customizable GUI
GUI for doing everything (ex configuring Internet Connection)

I wouldn't recommend Ubuntu if you want no terminal commands at all. Id rather recommend Mandriva or PCLinux as mentioned above.

shady_inc

Pee into the Wind...
cadcrazy said:
Ubuntu is easiest of them all.
Have you tried Mint Linux.??It is Ubuntu on steroids.!It has got support for mp3,java,flash,wmv etc right out of the box.Besides, it's default theme of black and minty-green is better than ubuntu's orange one.Also it has got softwares like Amarok,APTonCD,Mplayer,K3b etc all installed by default plus access to ubuntu repos for additional software too.
So, for a new user, Linux mint is easier to get used to than ubuntu in my humble opinion.

Dark Star

Cyborg Agent
No Terminal Command you said :)

Get Linux Mint right away its has everything I mean everything out of the box ;)

praka123

left this forum longback