Networking issue in my hostel !!

I'm a college student, living in hostel. College provides us internet facility through LAN(no WiFi). There is one main LAN distribution box in each hostel. From there the LAN is connected to distribution boxes in each floor of hostel. The problem is my hostel building has no distribution box, so we connected LAN wires to distribution box in nearby building with a 20m CAT 5 LAN wire.

The problem is, internet works fine in morning when number of people using net is low. At night, when almost everyone is connected to internet, our internet doesn't work, whereas it works for other people of the building in front of us.
For us it shows sometimes connected(but no internet connectivity) or limited. Also when i check for other computers connected to network, sometimes it shows just 3-4 , sometimes 60+. Network is not stable as we are not even able to play Call of Duty via LAN multiplayer(connection gets interrupted a lot while playing), with people of other rooms

So, what could the problem be ?? Can it be a problem of CAT 5 wire (due to long wire, losses ) ?

Note: In morning if we run Speedtest.net , we get DL speed of 35-40MBps, via download managers too we have seen 10MBps +

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
run ipconfig /all in command prompt when net is working & not working.compare the results.maybe due to excessive no. of connections box has not been able to give IP addresses or unable to handle extra load in night.max length for a cat5 cable segment is 100m.

TheHumanBot

Padawan
simple solution just go to your nearest lan box and remove other students cables and check your net if working or not keep doing until you get the connection :lol:

OP
omega44-xt

omega44-xt

Gear up ...