Need Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

maddy_in65

Journeyman
I am using vista laptop and i want to install ubuntu 7.10. I am new to linux and desire to learn about linux. Please guide me. My laptop has 160gb HDD. it has 4 drive C, D, E, F. Please explain how to install ubuntu. Is there any problem installing linux on vista. Please tell me on which drive should i install ubuntu. I heard that while using ubuntu i cant access data on c drive which has vista installed. Also i have one querry, my laptop is compaq and it has 1 year warranty, if i installed ubuntu and in future if there is a problem with laptop, does compaq repairs it within warranty.
Please help me. Thanks in advance.:)

Gigacore

Dreamweaver
Installing any other OS other than what u get when u buy is against the T.O.S and the warranty may get void

The_Devil_Himself

die blizzard die! D3?
^^dde you better get somebody else more experienced to install for you.

No you can't install ubuntu on NTFS FS,and neither on fat32 for that matter.

praka123

left this forum longback
..although there are small distros there which can be installed on vfat partitions.ur warranty will be void may be!

F

FilledVoid

I am using vista laptop and i want to install ubuntu 7.10. I am new to linux and desire to learn about linux. Please guide me. My laptop has 160gb HDD. it has 4 drive C, D, E, F. Please explain how to install ubuntu. Is there any problem installing linux on vista. Please tell me on which drive should i install ubuntu. I heard that while using ubuntu i cant access data on c drive which has vista installed.

This should help you *apcmag.com/5046/how_to_dual_boot_vista_with_linux_vista_installed_first

Also i have one query, my laptop is Compaq and it has 1 year warranty, if i installed Ubuntu and in future if there is a problem with laptop, does Compaq repairs it within warranty.