need suggestions for a new system within 30k

droy0784

Right off the assembly line
Hi guys,

I plan to purchase a new desktop for personal use. I will be using it primarily to watch movies, run multiple applications (pdf, excel, statistical packages like spss, eviews etc) simultaneosly, and some casual gaming like fifa, nfs, call of duty etc. I am not a hardcore gamer but would like to keep options open for future. I plan to use it for a long time, so need it to be future proof. Further, I am an absolute novice at hardware knowledge, so kindly enlighten me on such aspects; but I would prefer an intel processor. Do drop in with your suggestions. Thanks in advance.

1. What is the purpose of the computer? (Note: If you are planning to say multimedia, you will have to be more specific as all types of systems are capable of doing that)
A: watch movies, play music, run multiple applications (pdf, excel, statistical packages like spss, eviews etc) simultaneosly, high speed file transfer and some casual gaming like fifa, nfs, call of duty.

2. Are you open to alternate ideas/products giving similar better performance but offering more VFM/ sellers? If not- why?
A: Yes

3. What is your MAX budget?
A: 30K, can stretch a bit if absolutely necessary.

4. Planning to overclock?
A: Clueless about it.

5. Which OS are you planning to use?
A: Windows 7

6. How much hard drive space is needed?
A: At least 1 TB.

7. What resolution will the screen run at & whats the size of the screen you want? If you already want have one and want to use it, mention its resolution and size.
A: would prefer an HD LED backlit monitor (at least 17'). Have no idea about the resolution required, please advice.

8. How would you rate your hardware knowledge from the count of 1-10? (1 being the lowest, 5 being you are somewhat in sync with the current performers and 10 being the highest)
A: 1.

9. Have you ever built a desktop before or will this be done by an assembler?