Need help in getting a VPS

dashing.sujay

Moving
Staff member
Looking to switch to a VPS for one of my website. (Welcome - Prepvelvet)

Was on a shared hosting @ outpowerhosting, but those ahole guys keep on repeating that we use resources more than our limit and that our site is getting more than 3L hits which is not at all possible.

Looking out for a VPS solution under 10$/month (max, not a penny more; if cheaper, then better).

- Do not require much storage, a couple of GBs will be more than enough, currently using just 150mb.

- Main requirement is bandwidth. No idea about requirement, just require some odd couple of 100 students to give online exam at a time. 50GB should be fine, I guess.

Now since i am absolute beginner to hosting, a couple of queries bouncing in my head :

- How to figure out that how much RAM my site will need ?

- I can handle linux (just a starter though) and pretty much ready to do everything whatever comes along the way, so should I ditch managed hosting ?

Some of the options which I have circled out are -

1) *www.digitalocean.com/pricing/ (only 5$/month)

2) Bluehost / Hosting24.com / SSD VPS Servers - VPS.NET

3) AWS (but totally confused by their site, currently signed up for AWS free tier)

Any other option is welcome. Need to finalize this week or max this month.

PS: Need some special inputs on AWS. Really confused as how much free tier covers ? Can I really start running a full website for "a year" ? Doesn't seem to be as they give limited hours. :?

Thanks in advance. :)

cute.bandar

Cyborg Agent
I am with BuyVM - Affordable VPS hosting with a touch of insanity - they are great. costs me 30$ / 6 months.
Digitalocean should be equally good I suppose. Heard only good things about them.
PS: Need some special inputs on AWS. Really confused as how much free tier covers ? Can I really start running a full website for "a year" ?
Short answer : yes