Need a PSU?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sxyadii, Oct 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sxyadii

    sxyadii Drifting in DIRT 2

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cool Delhi
    I need power supply for this pc config:
    Intel C2Q600
    Asus P5K Premium WIFI-AP
    4x1GB DDR2 667MHz
    ATI HD 5850(will by soon)
    2x500GB HDD Seagate 7200.12

    My Budget - 7K MAX
     
  2. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Budget?????

    Tagan 500W - 3.5k

    CM Xtreme Power+ 500W - 2.8k

    Corsair VX450W - 3.9k
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sxyadii

    sxyadii Drifting in DIRT 2

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cool Delhi
    Budget max - 7K
     
  4. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Tagan 700W Modular Power Supply - 7.5k

    Tagan 600W Modular Power Supply - 6k

    CM Real Power Pro 650W - 6.5k

    Corsair 650W Power Supply - 7k

    I think Corsair 650W or Tagan 600W will be best for u.....!!

    Well wait for other members to reply......!!
     
  5. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    my pick would be VX550W or Tagan 600W. I think that config runs pretty good on vx450w but vx550w gives headroom for upgrades.
     
  6. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ^+1

    Ya he is absolutely rite. I think u dont need to spend 7k on PSU for this config.
     
  7. maverick786us

    maverick786us Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Go for Corsair VX 650, that will fit your budget. Its is state of the art pSU
     
  8. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^650 TX is it or VX?
     
  9. VarDOS

    VarDOS 15.0 GHz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beside A Road
    as desibond said, go for vx550, as vx series has the better performance, and is also recommended by the digit editorial team when we were at boot camp.
     
  10. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Corsair HX620W......or TX650W......either..ur choice.
     
  11. maverick786us

    maverick786us Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    low power Corsair PSUs with range of 400 TDP are VS series the 600 Series either comes with HX, which is moudlar or TX the non modular version.

    Modular PSUs are the most efficient of all
     
  12. nns

    nns New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Corsair TX 650
     
  13. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Intel C2Q600 - 200W
    4x1GB DDR2 667MHz - 15W x 4 = 60W
    ATI HD 5850(will by soon) = 200W
    2x500GB HDD Seagate 7200.12 = 2 x 30W = 60

    -------------------------------------------------------------
    520W
    +
    30%
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    676W

    Go for the TX650. Excellent PSU.
     
  14. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^LOL...
    500GB seagate consumes less than 10W...
    HD5850 consumes 161W
    C2Q Q6600 consumes max 100-120W
     
  15. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi

    Thanks for the LAUGH.

    But even I am aware of exact numbers regarding power consumption. Just in case the user wants to OC (yea he wont OC the HDD). Wanted him future scaled.

    What would you suggest a 450W PSU, so he lives in the edge always, and when puts in another part, has to change it...??
     
  16. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    LOL asigh. The kid likes to think that he's the all knowledgeable supremo just because he can Google (that too not well). This is not the first time he has responded to a post with a "LOL I am king because I can Google!". Lol @ OCing the HDD. These kids seriously need some manners. LOL @ the overgrown schoolboy.

    Well, I always say that it is better to have head room. Under Furmark, the max load of the HD5850 would be about 188-190W. CPU would start guzzling the watts like a Hummer guzzles diesel once he tries to OC.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    sxyadii

    sxyadii Drifting in DIRT 2

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cool Delhi
    Thnx for help guys,I go for Corsair 650tx
     
  18. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    u r the only insolent fool who is thinking i said anything about OCing the HDD....not me...check my post again....
     
  19. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I was laughing at asigh's joke you blind bat! Its night time and I thought bats could see better in the night. Oh wait, it does not affect their comprehension, does it?
     
  20. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yups, that is what I had done. Also wanted to give him headway, say for a PCI Soundcard, USB sticks, more HDDs, a more powerful card. As a standard I take 200W for GPU and CPU respectively, if the person will OC/GAME. Better safe then sorry, and stuck with a bottleneck due to the PSU.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page