My baby is dying, Help oh mighty lords of the software troubleshooting forum

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by mightyboosh, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mightyboosh

    mightyboosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,
    Pardon me for the title of the thread, just wanted some attention.

    I've had power cuts in my area, and i don't have a UPS to save data, or safely shut down my computer.

    Well, one of these days, i had my computer 'go off' because of these power cuts around 3 or 4 times. What happens now is that my computer screen suddenly <b>'freezes'</b> meaning i can still move my mouse around, and click on things (eg:the start menu) but once it comes up, even if i click elsewhere, it sort of stays there glued to the desktop.

    I have some very useful, and meticulously collected data on my computer, and it's too big to have backup cds for all of them.

    Could you please help me figure out what's wrong with my computer?
    i just <b>can't</b> lose the data on my HDD now.

    Thanks,
    - Mushroomcloudwarrior
     
  2. sridatta

    sridatta An Esoteric Geek

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    try restoring your computer to a previous date when ur system was normal..
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mightyboosh

    mightyboosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thankyou for the quick replies..

    I have tried restoring my computer to an earlier time, but i don't think anything happened because it said 'there have been no changes to restore to earlier time'

    Could you tell me how to run checkdisk/scan disk? as in, is it a program on the computer or a piece of software that i can download..
     
  4. sridatta

    sridatta An Esoteric Geek

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    its a built-in function in dos...

    start->run-> cmd

    for more options and help...
    Code:
    c:\>chkdsk/?
    for scanning.. but in read only mode...
    Code:
    c:\> chkdsk 
    if you want to fix errors, then use
    Code:
    c:\> chkdsk /f <drive letter>:
    the above option needs restart..
     
  5. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    This same things happen to me also sum days before
    First of All tell us ur Config & O.S.
    & u r anti
    & exactly tell when ur PC screen freezes..........?

    These are simple methods useful for resolving most of the Computers Problem
    Run - chkdsk / Scandisk
    Run - Disk Defragment
    Run - Clean Disk (remove temp files)
    Run - Update & Run Your Antivirus Software
     
  6. OP
    OP
    mightyboosh

    mightyboosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1.59 gHZ P4 128 mb RAM XP sp1

    I use AVG free version (updated regularly)

    The screen freezes after a while the computer is idle for a while, or if it's overworked for a while. It's not really predictable.

    Could you tell me how i can run checkdisk, like explain it further (i'm kind of dumb)
     
  7. Zeeshan Quireshi

    Zeeshan Quireshi C# Be Sharp !

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    boot in safe mode with only command prompt ( by pressing F8 during boot ) then
    :

     
  8. pokiri

    pokiri Guest

    u can also run checkdisk utility... by right clicking on the drive and properties>tools>check now
    it will ask 4 the reboot....
    and the disk will b checked at the next boot time
     
  9. daivagna

    daivagna New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey u need to planty of things...1stly start disk clean-up utility provided in systm tools...i.e strt->accessories->systemtools->disk clean-up..in that select all check box and hen clean -up disk(dont worry it will only clean files that is not imp),then fragment ur disk..again for that prog. is given the name is disk fragmentation..now restart ur pc..everything will atleast work ok
     
  10. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Must mean "Defragment your disk".
    Definately do defragment your disk. To do that go to start >all programs >accesories > system tools > defragment.
    [please check the menu structure immm currently on Ubuntu.]
    If you problem still dosnt go get your disk checked using a third party tool like Diskchecker or Disk analyser.
    It would also help to read this.
    It would be wise to back up your data and invest in an UPS.
     
  11. koolbluez

    koolbluez Šupər♂ - 超人

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Look up... up in da sky... see me yet? Nah... Use
    The Lords hast decreed to hold counsel with thou, Warrior! Thy predicament is a blasphemous reminder of the fickle hand of Elektron! The trail commences...

    First...
    u sure this kinda thing happened after the power cuts.

    Me thinks XP on a 128mb RAM might run slow anyway(as I got another comp which goes to standstill on XP and having similar confg. to urs)

    Scandisk first (although this should have already happened when u restarted the computer...
    Right-click any drive ("c" first) ->chose option "properties".
    Click on tab "tools".. under error-checking, click on button "check now"
    Tick both checkdisk options ->OK... stand back... actually lay back. It'll take lotsa time. Repeat process for other drives (d..e..)

    Defragment ur drives..
    Rightclick drive->"properties"->"tools" tab->under defragmentation, click on button "defragment now"
    Defrag all ur drives... that'll also take lotsa time.

    Me thinks this "hanging"'ll happen when u do a particular operation.. like running Media Player or something else. Pin-point the exact operation which causes this problem and then come back with ur question. Or something in the start-up is screwing ur computer.

    First.. check out ur Windows Left-Bottom "start" button->All programs->StartUp for entities. If there are some programs in it, delete them (rightclick on program and delete).
    Else... this is a little risky for u... Start->Run... type "msconfig" without the doublequotes
    This opens the "sytem configuration utility".
    Select "Startup" tab and de-tickmark all entries (except maybe the antivirus/firewall"). If it continues, Try deselecting all entries incl. antivirus/firewall and then save restart computer. If ur probs gone, Me.Antivirus/Firewall is responsible for the hang.

    Try the time-proved "trail & error" method to find ur baby's "killer" and kill him before he kills ur baby

    I still say either ur low RAM or some rouge software (corrupted heavy antivirus, some silly microsoft product...) is guilty here
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
  12. OP
    OP
    mightyboosh

    mightyboosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    Thank you thank you thank you for the overwhelming response..

    Well, yes i know my configuration is terrible, but i try to keep it in good shape (i manage to run photoshop on it, no joke)

    Also, i have now checked all the drivesfor errors (By rightclicking on the drives in my computer, and 'check for errors' under 'tools' and when i did this for c:, it asked me to reboot which i did.

    I am still to defragment C: which i'm doing right after i post this reply..

    I have checked for viruses, checked for errors, (now going to) defregment, and cleared up space using CC cleaner in safe mode.
    I know the lords of the sortware troubleshooting forum will not fail me.

    Yet, i shall come back and tell you the state of my computer after i'm done with all this.

    P.S: is there any way i can rep all of you for helping me, you should have that system if you don't already. Thanks again!
    __________
    I think i've figured out who the culprit is..

    i think it was MSN beta all along, no msn beta, and no freezing!!

    (will re-installing it work, or are there other news of msn beta playing havoc like this)
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2006
  13. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    better buy one cheap UPS @tleast next time...
     
  14. OP
    OP
    mightyboosh

    mightyboosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Duly noted.
     
  15. gaurav21r

    gaurav21r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    High, High above, over that Blue Sky
    So many Replies!!!!

    Hopefully your problem has been solved.

    In any case, I must say it is quite terrific that there were so many replies...
    Well done DIGIT Forum members, and nice to see the forum growing ever so quickly and gaining more n more popularity each day.

    Hats off to the 'Mighty Lords'.....
     
  16. spironox

    spironox Booting Nicotine!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paradox Box in the scrap yard
    start>run>command>sfc /scannow

    be sure u have ur xp cd in the cd rom drive .... sit back ..get a cold drink and pray that the power doesnt goes off

    let the window finish the checking of files ..reboot and if atall the things are going hay wire again clean the contacts of the ram and general cleaning of the dust
     
  17. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    I think ur all prb. solved out it there anything remains is u need to have a UPS with you and buy a backup disk for all data back ur if CDs can't do this for you

    copy all ur data on that disk coz data is most imp. and hardware is not too much trustable in this world

    so always
    BE READY WITH YOUR BACKUP DISKS
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page