Movies Discussion Thread V1: Ratings and Opinions

ajayritik

^ Sam9s, you still didn't respond to my earlier query here.
Was looking for some good movies to test out my HtIB.
Any suggestions.

The wolf of wall street 6/10

I'm not sure what I'm supposed to appreciate in this movie?
What was so great in this movie? Leonardo sure did way better movies in his life and in 2013 we got so many better movies than this.

Nothing overwhelming or outstanding.
That ASS scene...:lol:

quan chi

mortal kombat
[MENTION=870]rhitwick[/MENTION] thanks for the response I think I got my answer. Btw yes rajeev masand is still one honest critic out there. But cant say how long he will stay that way. About raja sen yes he may have given harsh reviews to some good movies but most of his reviews & ratings are really appropriate. He is mostly bashed by bhai fans & other khan fans :rofl: for rating their movies appropriately.:D

Anyways about fan's director...hmm.. guys I actually meant his last two movies (especially) were stupid. I may not have responded to your posts if you guys were not defending his last ch***tic movie called "shudh desi romance", since the flaws of his other movies can be ignored but this one is just bad. Well I don't judge a movie by its box office collections but by its quality, thus by flop I was not at all referring to the collections they made.

I have seen that movie maybe two to three years back thus I don't remember much otherwise I would have been happy to list all of its major flaws here. But one thing I do remember clearly is that the director (maybe even the story writer if there was any) was totally confused. He had no idea what message he wanted to give to the public. He couldn't even wrap up the movie properly & also decided to go for an open ending (for the public to decide). Also IIRC then there were many loopholes in the non existing story.

Well was it entertaining...yes maybe for some people mainly because of the locations & some colourful dialogues & screenplays. Thats about it. After watching the movie if you think about it then you will only blame yourself for watching it. Overall there is NOTHING in the movie.

BTW since you guys wanted comparison then I think Rohit shetty's golmaal 1 & golmaal 2 is far better than this crap. I would also say aawara paagal deewana & deewane hue paagal is also better than this movie. Because at least their humor compensates for the logic less story.

Ek aakhri sawal :D. If you guys understood the meaning of the title "SHUDDH DESI ROMANCE" then please do explain it to me. What was sudh desi in that romace?? I only know suddh desi ghee....:-?

a_medico

Chillum Baba
The invitation (2015) - Jabardast movie for those who like slow, atmospheric horror/suspense. Hidden gem.

ajayritik

[MENTION=870]

BTW since you guys wanted comparison then I think Rohit shetty's golmaal 1 & golmaal 2 is far better than this crap. I would also say aawara paagal deewana & deewane hue paagal is also better than this movie. Because at least their humor compensates for the logic less story.

What was sudh desi in that romace?? I only know suddh desi ghee....:-?
I like some of Rohit Shetty movies especially Golmaal series all 3 of them pure entertainment. However I feel he has started taking it for granted. Dilwale was one case and too an extent Singham Returns. Deewane hue Pagal was a failed attempt at comedy. Didn't enjoy the movie at all and I believe that movie didn't work at the box office. Agree with other three movies that you mentioned they are definitely entertaining if not sensible type of movies.
Too be very honest even I couldn't watch SDR for long but still of whatever I saw couldn't say it looked stupid.
Let me watch it and get back to you on that front.

Loved the way Sam responded to your message posted.

quan chi

mortal kombat
Well I guess that movie was way out of your conventional brain beens, won't blame you, its NOT a desi romance...yes exactly, the typical one ..... that has a kiss hidden behind the two yellow sun flowers ...:D :D ... and that is what most of us, are comfortable with I suppose....right!!. ....lol SDR is romance blunt, flat right on your face, with topics that cover the **ahem ahem** live in relation, and oh how that irritates the senses of soo many of us ...lol ..... curvy girls in bikinis running on the beach in some Salman Khan movie is just fine! As long as there is objectification, but livein relation ...becomes ...cheee cheee or ch***tic ..lol.

A reason a movie like Ki n Ka also was mostly rejected. unorthodox approach ....

and movie not wrapping up properly ...well ....On the contrary I felt the complexities between the three leading characters reached a very decent satisfying conclusion .....wonder if we were watching the same movie ....well ... blame the brain beens ...but its ok I can understand, Wolf of wall street becomes a porn movie for you, (@Kaltrops after this post I dont think he was joking, I think he was pretty serious) SDR in no way could have gone in to his movie comfort zone ...)

and to conclude ...... in one statement you say ...."maybe even the story writer if there was any) was totally confused." and on the other it was entertaining coz of the screenplay ?? you contradicting your own statement ...lol

I am not interested to watch that movie again.

But I would like to suggest you something (in a friendly tone now please don't misunderstand that I am arguing with you.) Few days back I saw you & another member in this thread were calling each other names then apologizing to each other due to some misunderstanding.
1. Always read completely & properly then try to understand what the poster is trying to say before commenting on him or jumping to any conclusions. I think I have repeated this sentence many times in this forum.
You are still stuck with the wolf of wall street thing thus I take it you still didn't understand that post. Well let me re quote that
Posting a porn movie is not allowed in this forum you should know it. Moreover it goes straight to must not watch or maybe one time watch.
See I have put an option too which means it is not completely unwatchable according to me. The last part of the sentence means either you may find it decent or you may not like it. Which means its better that you give it a try & decide for yourself. Also remember this movie is based on Jordan Belfort. The way this movie was made some..ah **** it not some but many people thought it was just made to glorify a con man which means it was glorifying a crime. yes or no? again its subjective. I don't want to go there.

About that porn part....well like in a movie if people explain everything explicitly every time then the conversation/dialogues will become boring maybe even childish. You watch a lot of movies thus I leave it to you to figure that out if I was serious or joking....no comments on that.

2. Okay then as per your definition SDR is just an irony? or its a desi romance without that flower censor? Sorry if I am getting it wrong.
But it seems you are kind of confused or may be irritated because I called a movie stupid which you liked. Therefore you used the words "conventional brain beens" & "movie comfort zone" & started judging my real life mentality (At least from your sentences it seems like that) on the subject like live in relationship, which I had barely touched.
In fact I said nothing about the film subject. I only said about its flaws & execution & asked to explain why is it named so. Then how it proves that this movie is not in my comfort zone? If it wasn't then I wouldn't have seen it completely.

Coming to Ki & ka. I have not seen that movie but the subject of the film is very good. I like that. I can't comment on the movie personally since I have not seen it. However the reason which you have given for its rejection "unorthodox approach " is complete BS.(Again I am not calling you anything I am just calling the reason you have given is BS)
I have read some reviews about it & mostly people there really liked the idea or the subject of the movie but they hated the way it was executed. Having a good subject only cannot make a film great if its execution is poor.
Even a poor execution can completely alter the basic idea of the film which may lead to misunderstanding.

Please don't give this "unorthodox approach" excuse for every film which you liked & the others didn't.

3. If anybody in this forum is planning to watch SDR then please do focus on the character "tara". I am sure you will find bigger flaws in her story.
On the contrary I felt the complexities between the three leading characters reached a very decent satisfying conclusion .....wonder if we were watching the same movie
I don't mind if you find that conclusion satisfying. For me the story starts from a point then it goes to another point from there it just goes in circle & ends in the circle itself without reaching any destination.
Yes we were watching the same movie. Only our opinions were different at the end.

4. Now consider this situation "I went to meet xyz in a bad mood, but I came back home feeling refreshed & happy". People can write a 30 min to 1 hr screenplay based on this situation which can be funny, serious,sensual or just normal. Now is that a story? If it is then I am sorry SDR has a story but even that story is flawed. Sorry if I am wrong anywhere.

lol .... why on mother earth would you agree, there's north-south pole difference of opinion beetween your choice of movies and mine, only 2/50 movies is the max we get along on the same liking ...lol .....BTW .... your statement looks more like .... you actually agree with me than not .... formation is not correct ... :)

I know what I wrote and what I wrote is correct.

What I wrote and deleted was "I can't agree with you here. He off-late started attacking on personal basis. Ridiculing fellow members wherever there was a disagreement with his opinion. He used to be a sensible person but now just tries force-feed his opinion down the opposition.
What he wrote in response to [MENTION=15209]quan chi[/MENTION] is full of such ridicule and I did not like his tone too."

But, I deleted that part thinking I might be over-reacting and waited to see if [MENTION=15209]quan chi[/MENTION] also felt the same way that I felt reading your comments.

Yes, our views differ and always did. What did change is, you used to respect opinions other than your and accepted that there could be people who may not agree with you always. This is changed now.

ajayritik

sam let's take this light and leave it at this.
quan chi and rhitwick as well.
Let Peace Prevail.

[MENTION=15209]quan chi[/MENTION], I remember there was once some discussion going on about the masala entertainment movies wherein what you and asingh told I could co-relate.
I thought we both think alike when it comes to movie tastes.
All of sudden I saw you bashing SDR which again I brought it up coz of Maneesh Sharma.

quan chi

mortal kombat
I am not confused for you calling the movie stupid ....irritated yes a bit, and I am being honest here ..., ...... if their is any media entertainment or a political or social norm, that is complex enough to be beyond my mental comprehension, I will admit I couldn't get it and did not like it ..... rather than calling it just plain stupid or otherwise....

But...Arey toh bola na maine... I didn't get the meaning of SDR please explain it to me! Didn't I?
I felt the movie is stupid then why should't I say it? why should I sugarcoat it? I have given my reasons too.

If you think you can give reasons for those big loopholes & explain the movie more appropriately then please do so no one is stopping you.

this means in your definition people who will love this movie are also stupid, since its a stupid movie per you ????? Your conventional brain beans were stimulated, does not make the subject stupid ... Plain and simple ....

Wait......My definition?? what are you saying....? (There is no need to get so much angry). Guys did I defined anything?
You see I am sorry that you are interpreting it that way.You are defining it that way. You are understanding it that way. You are putting words in my mouth! Yes that the truth & you are going on telling me about my conventional brain beans....this is the thing which I am really not understanding.

Let me give you an example..Read completely please.

One of my close friend's mother is a fan of salman khan she likes his appearance on screen.She has seen bodyguard, ready, ek tha tiger,dabaang... almost all the movies. Even she likes many of them. Let me tell you she is an educated, good, polite & mature (I mean mentally) lady.
However her son & I hates majority of those movies & feels they are just plain stupid. Er...not only us but many people thinks they are stupid....Now according to you what should her son call her...??? Please answer.

Even my previous boss who was also a nice person liked almost all srk movies? But trust me he was not a *****.

Another example from this thread
I think In this thread me & many others had bashed chennai express & may have called it a c*****tic movie. Does that means we called rhitwick a c****a too?? If you think yes then please explain the reason why? How is rhitwick related to chennai express? Did he made it? He likes SRK that is his biggest mistake so he is a stupid? Then anybody who likes SRK is a c****a? That means even srk's family members if they loves him then they are stupid too???

............Arey bhai kya bol rahe ho zara soch ke bolo.....this is just a normal movie discussion thread...if you are behaving like some of those rowdy youtube salman khan fans & have sworn to make me look like stupid for revenge then....I have nothing to say I only feel sorry for you.:|

Coming to conventional brain beans or movie comfort zone ....does not mean that there is something wrong with the brain, and yes real life mentality does reflect on the choices we make in our life, including the kind of movies we watch and like, again that does not mean there is something wrong with the person. Being conventional and not in the movie comfort zone is not a crime, but does state the approach of a person on certain norms of life and society. Hence, I commented, that accepting live-in relation might not be in your brain beens .... lots of others as well ..... and BTW what else was there to touch in SDR, except live-in relation. The movie was entirely based on that and the complexities between the 3 protagonists.....

But I hardly said anything about the topic.....what else?.. sorry I didn't get what you meant by that. In every movie we see direction, story,screenplay,dialogues,character development...etc etc..
Okay now I understand what you want to say. For you SDR is just a film made on complexities between the 3 protagonists so we should not consider anything else..right?...hmmm...No wonder my brain beans are conventional lets leave it here...

Btw another suggestion we don't know each other, we never met, never spoke in real life & you just by reading my post (& not even asking me to clarify something which you didn't get) started judging me. This is something very rude. Although I don't mind but in real life people may mind...

You have rated jupiter ascending 7/10 did I said anything to you? did I judged you?
Even the poster of that movie makes me uncomfortable. I loathe that movie.

Coming to unorthodox approach ..... why!!!! what's wrong in that, incidentally we discussed two movies in a span of just 2 previous pages of the thread hence it just appears that I am giving the same reason for movies I like ..... Ki n Ka does have an unorthodox approach ... (if you don't know the meaning of Unorthodox, just google before calling it BS .... gives a retard impression ...again I am also not calling you anything, just giving you the reason you have given is retard .. :))

I think the execution of the film was the pivot point, you couldn't get it, so did lot many others ....sorry ...lets move on ...period ..!
I was referring to those two movies only. Because in both you have given the same reason. Well its my fault I also thought you must have given that that reason for liking jupiter ascending too... but you didn't. sorry.

yes Ki n Ka does have an unorthodox approach...wait unorthodox - Dictionary Definition : Vocabulary.co well I could only find this meaning if there is any other then please do clarify. Thus according to the meaning given above I am sure it does have an unorthodox approach & I NEVER DENIED IT in my previous post tooooooooo....what is your problem????????? Sorry again.:cry:

Poora paragrph thande dimaag se please please read karo. usse samajhne ki kaushish karo..yeh forum hai yaha pe bol ke acche se har baat samjhaya nahi ja sakta. Phir bhi samajh nahi aye to shayed mera ya OP ka mistake ho sakta hai mujhse ya usse poocho.

Coming to Ki & ka. I have not seen that movie but the subject of the film is very good. I like that. I can't comment on the movie personally since I have not seen it. However the reason which you have given for its rejection "unorthodox approach " is complete BS.(Again I am not calling you anything I am just calling the reason you have given is BS)

Let me state it CLEARLY for you. I have put it in caps just to make sure you don't misunderstand it this time
YOU SAID THE MOVIE WAS REJECTED BECAUSE OF ITS UNORTHODOX APPROACH. I SAID NO I DISAGREE WITH YOU. I THINK IT WAS REJECTED NOT BECAUSE OF ITS UNCONVENTIONAL APPROACH BUT BECAUSE IT WAS MADE POORLY ACCORDING TO MOST OF THE REVIEWERS.
THEREFORE IF YOU HAVE LIKED IT THEN ITS OKAY BUT DON'T SAY THAT OTHERS REJECTED IT BECAUSE IT HAS UNORTHODOX APPROACH.

Now if I interpret your statement (like you did with mine) I take it you mean to say majority of the viewers are not that intelligent & open minded like you thus they failed to get the meaning & beauty of these movies.....Okay I have no problem with that too its possible....but before saying others something & taking their dislike on movies you like as a personal insult please discuss it with them first.

sam let's take this light and leave it at this.
quan chi and rhitwick as well.
Let Peace Prevail.

[MENTION=15209]quan chi[/MENTION], I remember there was once some discussion going on about the masala entertainment movies wherein what you and asingh told I could co-relate.
I thought we both think alike when it comes to movie tastes.
All of sudden I saw you bashing SDR which again I brought it up coz of Maneesh Sharma.

Arey aap baar baar beech beech me kyoun kood rahe ho..aapne to poori movie dekhi bhi nahi hai..stadium pe baith ke popcorn khao...ya to kuch thanda piyo..... aur show enjoy karo......:-D ;-)

Ohhh so much typing...
(Increased post count)

Na, it didn't. Posting in "chit-chat" doesn't increase post count!

Trailer released for "The girl on the train"

Just finished the book 2 weeks back. If made properly could get an Oscar nomination.

[YOUTUBE]WOuKLtSVFcY[/YOUTUBE]

Monsters 6/10

Could have been better. Falls in the league of "Cloverfield" but not a "found footage" movie.

Manjunath 7.5/10

A surprisingly well made movie which kinda lacks sheen in lateral part of second half.
Seema Biswas did a marvelous job in the role of Manjunath's mother.
Check it out for sure.

as you and rhitwick are taking it incase of SDR ........ cheeeez man .....
[MENTION=6966]sam9s[/MENTION] I've not seen SDR and I refrained from making any comment on it. So don't drag me here.
b/w I had already explained my issue and that was how you were dealing or responding to the views that did not match with you.