Monitor screen shakes at random

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by anubhavj1, Jan 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anubhavj1

    anubhavj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 17" HCL monitor with HCM785 written on top which came with the branded computer I brought.
    The thing with the monitor is that it begins shaking at random that is not physically :) but rather the whole picture being displayed starts shaking and after some time stops also at random.

    Is it a problem with the refresh rate(Anyways how to alter it) or could it be due to the speakers which are present on either side of the monitor(Altec Lansing 2.1)?
    And the problem happens quite randomly.
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Must be the magnetic influence, aka the speakers.

    Also try degaussing the monitor via its controls.
     
  3. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    Try keeping the speakers away from the monitor
     
  4. MysticDews

    MysticDews

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Or may be some prob with HCL Monitors that some with branded machines...

    I also face the same problem some times..
    Degaussing helps sometimes but not always...

    try to keep the resolution to a higher value with a high refresh rate (you will find it at Display Properties>Advanced>Monitor) may be that would help or at least make it better..
     
  5. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    its possible that not adequate power supply is sent to monitor check if running from UPS
     
  6. abhipal

    abhipal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mostly like this problem is caused due to improper power supply. Check your power supply. Don't know if there is connection with the problem but also check the earthing. If the screen shakes all the time try changing the refresh rate.
     
  7. MysticDews

    MysticDews

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I do think it is coz of some earthing probs...coz i checked it and got the earthing redone by my electrician...

    though it hasnt helped me completely but ya, it has reduced...

    Thanks..
     
  8. ramharis

    ramharis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try placing your mobile away from the monitor
    some times you wont recieve any call or sms but the phone tries to contact the network provider so the monitor flickers rarely
    try doing all the previous reply if u still get the same problem try this step
     
  9. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    check if the ups is not too close to the monitor..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page