Mobile, budget 20-25k

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by billubakra, Apr 30, 2018.

  1. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    ^ For contacts, there should be a setting to display only those with phone numbers. Delete FB app, it's a resource hog. Use any browser.
    I'm not sure why you're getting this "emergency" message on the lockscreen. Have you searched in settings-> security to disable it?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    No brother not able to find any setting to hide display only phone numbers. I bet I saw that option to hide emails somewhere in Google settings in the stock version used in moto phones. My friend is using fb, his choice.
    There is no option in security to disable the emergency thing that's showing on the lockscreen.
     
  3. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    :facepalm:
    Seriously though
    Contacts -> 3 dots menu -> Contacts to display.
     
  4. anupam_pb

    anupam_pb Gear up ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    MI, USA
    Is there an option called "Filter" in contacts/people app? If so its there.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Bina kuch jaane facepalm karne ki badi aadat hai bhai teri. In contacts to display we can only sort by first or last name.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
    Vineet Sharma likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Unfortunately no dear. I am googling about this and the emergency issue since morning but no luck. Is there an Asus India customer support mail from where they actually reply?
     
  7. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Congo :)

    This emergency thing likely is a default safety feature/shortcut , not a bug related to sim

    Does it open emergency dialer ? , when you single tap/double tap on lockscreen where emergency is written. ? It is likely a safety feature to gain quick access to emergency dialer when for some reason you can't open your lockscreen / save time in case of emergency..

    Lenovo phones also have this same
    In Samsung there it is accessed by pressing power button 3 times quickly

    It is also in this video , so not some bug

     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
    billubakra likes this.
  8. Minion

    Minion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,574
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Yep,I think that emergency thing is implemented by google
     
    billubakra likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks Brother. It is placed exactly as shown in the video. This is the first phone ever where it is mentioned on the screen so that is why I thought maybe it is a bug or something. When we click on it, it asks for details like medical information and asks us to enter enter an emergency number.
    Any way to hide email addresses from contact list?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    @gta5
    Turned off syncing of contacts with Google account. Now if I try to delete emails from contacts one by one, it is saying that deleting will remove them from Google account also.
     
  11. anupam_pb

    anupam_pb Gear up ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    MI, USA
  12. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    It appears this sorting of contacts showing sim/phone only has been removed in recent versions of Android .. Can't test other workarounds since I am on old version

    You may have to rely on 3rd party apps from playstore
     
  13. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Already Google Contacts is the default contacts app. Check the screenshot only the below mentioned settings are there. I have checked each one many times but not able to find the option to hide emails

    [​IMG]

    Any other way? Checked the Google website link, I don't understand how it will help.
    Any other credible contacts app?


    Sorting is there but only by first or last name. Since I have turned the sync off with contacts, so if I delete the email id's one by one, it won't delete the emails from the Google account, right?

    1 more issue I have switched on the delivery reports for the sms messages, but unfortunately I am not getting any delivery report. Any help?
    [​IMG]


    Few more bug which I have discovered, a. I have forwarded all calls from Sim 1 i.e. Jio to a certain number. Sim 2 is SHITtel. Now say a person calls on Jio that call will be forwarded to that specific number say x. Now if x is busy and disconnects the call, this call goes to Sim 2 in the same phone. DAFUQ. Any explanation for this?
    b. I connected my laptop using wifi spot of this phone as there was no electricity in the afternoon but the internet kept on breaking. Breaking as in the speed went down to zero for few seconds and then came back. Connected a Samsung phone but still same result.

    This phone is a piece of junk. I should have got the A8+.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
  14. Minion

    Minion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,574
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    You should ask these in nokia forum.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Didn't buy the Nokia one brother.
    One thing which I have noticed is that although stock is good but it has its own drawbacks and this is where a skin like that of Samsung Experience comes to the rescue. Will never buy a stock Android phone again.
     
  16. Vineet Sharma

    Vineet Sharma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Same here. I loved stock android once but after using the samsung experience, never going back again.
     
    billubakra likes this.
  17. anupam_pb

    anupam_pb Gear up ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    MI, USA
    Welcome to the other side lol
     
    billubakra likes this.
  18. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    @anupam_pb Any chance of getting rid of the bugs/issues that I have posted above?
     
  19. anupam_pb

    anupam_pb Gear up ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    MI, USA
    Software updates are your best help.

    Try factory reset once.

    I'm not sure if android ever had a good implementation of delivery reports. I remember it being broken in my first android 6 years ago, but after that IMs took over & there was no need for SMS after that.

    Most dual SIM phones ask you to enable call forwarding between the SIMs. Many people just click yes without checking much, maybe that's creating the issue, not sure.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Resetting will be a waste of time.
    Delivery reports are showing in all phones but this is the only phone having the issue.
    I have enabled call forwarding in 4-5 phones and all work fine. The problem with this phone is that if the call is cancelled it goes to the second Sim in the same phone.
    Don't buy this phone for your cousin.
     

Share This Page