liteon dvd sounds like jet taking off from my comp!

ranjan2001

Today I bought Liteon 20x MODEL NO. DH-20A4P07C FOR Rs 1200/-

Only problem I am finding in last few hrs is that it spins too loud, feels like a jet getting ready for take OFF within the comp, it sounds like wwwfffw wfwfwfw ......fwffwffwf..................................wwwwwwwwwwwwfffffffffffffffffffffff, I have checked all 4 screws are tight yet it does that.

Any other user can u confirm if this makes such loud sound?
This is my 1st 20X drive so need to confirm this, earlier I was using 16X sony drive. May be I get sony 20X for 1400/-.

codename_romeo

Romeo + Lucifer = ME
Re: liteon dvd sounds like jet taking off frommy comp!

I don about ur particular drive but then most of the drives i have seen (except sony) make such noise

R

ranjan2001

Re: liteon dvd sounds like jet taking off frommy comp!

Then I think I need my sony back, will change it back to sony 20X, this is so loud that I can hear the take off sound in my another room 14 feet away.

R

ranjan2001

Last 2 years I used 16X Sony it did not sound like that at all.
My cpu is next to me on my desk so its quite bothering & I do sound recording & its surely going to create more problem in that.

I better get it exchanged for Sony.

I just want to confirm is it bcoz its 20X, though I was writing dvd at 16X only.

codename_romeo

Romeo + Lucifer = ME
i use a 16x one...but my pals who use 20x don complain of as much sound as u are....... so get it exchanged n pray that the new one doesnt make so much of sound

R

ranjan2001

ok decided I will get sony for another 200/- & have peace of mind, I cant believe liteon markets this product with no concern as to how loud is this.

Guys think think think think 4 times before u buy liteon 20X buy it only if u r fascinated with take off & landing jets.:D:D:D

Update
Does sony have any 20X sata DVD?
Is there any speed difference using IDE vs sata drives, My mobo has 1 IDE port & 6 sata ports.

speedster

ok decided I will get sony for another 200/- & have peace of mind, I cant believe liteon markets this product with no concern as to how loud is this.

Guys think think think think 4 times before u buy liteon 20X buy it only if u r fascinated with take off & landing jets.:D:D:D

Update
Does sony have any 20X sata DVD?
Is there any speed difference using IDE vs sata drives, My mobo has 1 IDE port & 6 sata ports.

10000 % no speed Difference,better Cable Management thats the only advantage

In IDE writers if u find a Older model of BenQ nothing like that !! its BenQ 1650 its THE best IDE writer u can find,but its pretty hard to find these Days :(

I have to say this-because of the bad image samsung made with their drive tray problem long back,they are suffering with some good products too!dear, get a samsung-toshiba octoedge 20x it solves ur problems.i am using it and am satisfied!and no sounds,no noises too!

R

ranjan2001

I am just now going to market for the replacement, I will see 1st sony else samsung, but my past tells me not to get samsung, it does not even last 1 year in my case.

Thanks for the suggestion.

nvidia

-----ATi-----
Even my Liteon DVD writer makes a lot of noise.
I hate liteon.*gigasmilies.googlepages.com/18a.gif

CyCo

I am just now going to market for the replacement, I will see 1st sony else samsung, but my past tells me not to get samsung, it does not even last 1 year in my case.

Thanks for the suggestion.

My liteon never gave me sound problems but after 2 yrs , the tray got stuck and the repair ppl said get a new one, so i got a new Asus SATA. works fine, no noise.

Find my thread if u want, on which writer to get.

Pls dont get samsung after my horrible experiences with them, i avoid them like the PLAGUE !

my cousine bought a litepn 20X recently n it was faulty. it was not able to read properly from the disk!! so he replaced it by asus 18X

R

ranjan2001

I got Sony 20X model DRU-190A
its noisier than my old 16x sony may be bcoz its faster but at least it does not sound like a liteon jet taking off.

Have been happy with sony last 2 years.

janitha

I got Sony 20X model DRU-190A
its noisier than my old 16x sony may be bcoz its faster but at least it does not sound like a liteon jet taking off.

Have been happy with sony last 2 years.

So did you get another Liteon? Because IIRC Sony uses Liteon OEM!

R

ranjan2001

Yes I got to know later that this sony model uses Liteon OEM from another forum member, but this one is quite tolerable, its louder than my 16X sony for sure.

janitha

lound sound se kuch nahi hota hai ...... IMO, try not running more programms when ritting & viewing dvd .......

How can it be related to the noise?

BTW my Sony DRU 810a (Benq OEM I think) served me well in all respects like read, write, low noise etc. for more than 2 years when it became very noisy and within two months it was irrepairably damaged.

I had Liteon before. It was a grinder :-(. after 1 month, stopped reading/writing CD's. Sent it to support. After 1 month or phone calls they used to say, come after 2 days, come after 2 days. Fed up of them and took Sony DRU-190A. Damn smooth and silent. Peace of mind at last. Blazing speed and something I doubt if CD/DVD is rotating or not.

mad1231moody

I thought it was only me facing this. I too own a Lite-On DVD Writer and it makes way too loud noises, but it is able to read all the medias and even write DVD's satisfactorily. I bought it after many tech magazines referred it . But I think that Sony writers rule the roost all the way