Linux running slower compared to WinXp.

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by rishitells, Sep 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rishitells

    rishitells Always in Dreams...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Hi, I am using Ubuntu and Windows Xp in dual boot. Ubuntu runs fine but the problem is that, compared to Xp, ubuntu runs very slow. Programs take much time to load, linux file manager is also very slow compared to windows explorer.
    And internet browing is also slower in ubuntu.:sad:

    I have AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 754 pin.
    512 MB DDR 400 RAM.
    500GB Seagate Harddisk.
    I don't have any graphics card.
    I have to share my RAM for increasing graphics.

    Does my configuration has anything to do with this problem?
    Or Linux is slower than windows OSes.:-|
     
  2. Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    Well Linux is NOT slower than Windows. Ubuntu can be potentially slower but that depends.
    Which version of Ubuntu are you using anyway? Ubuntu 8.04, and Ubuntu 8.10 are pretty darn slow I admit. I would suggest if you are using these older versions, then instal Ubuntu 9.04, it's pretty fast.
    If you are using Ubuntu 9.04, it's pretty strange that you find it slow. Are you comparing Ubuntu to a fresh copy of XP? Fresh copy of XP is pretty fast, but it will go slower and slower as you install programs in it.
    Also 512MB RAM how much you allocate for GFX? because anything below 384 MB of physical RAM would mean a very slow Ubuntu.
    In that case, upgrade you RAM or a use less bloated distro like Arch, Debian, or Slackware.
     
  3. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    I think this has got something to do with the SWAP allocation.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    rishitells

    rishitells Always in Dreams...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    I share 32/64 MB RAM and I am using ubuntu 9.04.
    I find it slower because when i run some program ( say, movie player), it takes much time to operate in fullscreen mode. Also, while browsing in firefox or opera, the pages take much time to load and i can't watch YouTube videos smoothly as in WinXP.

    I think it's just because of RAM.
    But I have DDR 400 and I think it's a money-waste to upgrade it.
    Also, how much swap should I allocate?
     
  5. Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    Which Graphics Card? It seems as a graphics issue.

    Go to Applications->Accessories->Terminal and post the output of:
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA
     
  6. Rahim

    Rahim Married!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    Rishab, open a Terminal and enter these 2 commands and copy/paste its output.
    1. sudo fdisk -l
    2. top

    Both the above commands will show how much swap have you allocated. a 500 MB swap is more than enough.
    Another reason might be graphics problem. Use the command posted by Liverpool_Fan.

    By any chance, have you installed any other Linux distro and if yes, then, was it as slow as Ubuntu?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    rishitells

    rishitells Always in Dreams...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    My graphics card is integrated VIA K8M800- S3 Unichrome Pro IGP.
    But graphics memory depends on shared RAM. I normally keep it to 32 MB.
    I think it is a graphics card problem.
    Because if I try to run 3D Screensaver in ubuntu, the computer hangs completely, I have to restart the pc.
     
  8. FilledVoid

    FilledVoid Who stole my Alpaca!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Kerala
    I'm betting my money on the video driver. Ubuntu is known to be weird for certain video adapters. Especially Intel. Although I was able to find a workaround for Intel I doubt there is one for S3.
    Furthermore this pretty much confirms it. If you are willing to give it a go then I would start from here.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenChrome

    A quote from the above link

    Hope the link helps you in some way.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    rishitells

    rishitells Always in Dreams...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    I am going to try it.
    Thanks very much for the info.
     
  10. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    Ohh :(
    The VIA chipset has very bad support under Linux due to non-disclosure of chipset specifications by VIA. I too had one & had a hell lot of trouble configuring it. Even when it worked it was only for a short period & would again pop-up now & then.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    rishitells

    rishitells Always in Dreams...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    ^^Yes, I am also having lot of trouble configuring it.
    So I am not going to do anything for it.
    I will upgrade my system ASAP.
     
  12. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    That's the best thing you can do :)
    Also use some other distro since majority of Ubuntu users face problem with display.
     
  13. FilledVoid

    FilledVoid Who stole my Alpaca!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Kerala
    Most of Ubuntus display issues are just minor annoyances which can be solved. Not ot mention thats its a very good beginner distro.
    Id just throw in a display card if you have one or can get one cheap. Unless you have been planning to buy a new system of course.
     
  14. siddharthmakwana

    siddharthmakwana New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baroda
    increase ur RAM and also try disabling ipv6 from ur network setting to get good internet speed.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page