LINUX - How and What to learn ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

CyCo

In the zone
i am an SE student doing B-tech in IT

i wanted to learn linux as i wanted to pursue projects in it

1. which version shd i use ? Redhat or Fedora , Mandrake , Suse ....

2. Shd i install it directly and start using and try to figure stuff out or shd i learn abt it beforehand ??

3. for learning before hand, shd i buy some book or web tutorials ?? (Pls suggest)

thanks ..

sknowonweb

Journeyman
hai
Web tutorials are enough to understand the basics of linux.
search for some linux newbies nearby to clarify some popup doubts ( certainly with a little xperience he can answer basic doubts)
U can use fedora or suse as a good start. suse 10 oss is more interactive than a typical linux box of fedora.But to understand redhat use fedora.
Linux installation needs some basic understanding over linux file systems and a lot of reference stuff is over the internet.
Post ur linux oriented questions directly to open source section of digit forum, more detailed doubts on linux will e answered in linuxquestions.org forums.
if u r that much new then use some Live cds to know how linux feels and touch

susk21

Broken In
thanks for the reply man
i also want to Learn it.
But the course conducted by Red Hat (RHCT-RHCE) is helpful or not?
its DAMN costly 13000/-

gycapri

Broken In
hi cyco im also a student of b.tech 2nd yr 4th sem ,i also want to learn lynux.but have same ques. like u have.

i want to know wat does live cd do ,i recently received ubuntu 5.10 free installation cd & live cd.

Satissh S

Youngling
@gycapri:- You've got the right cd. Go ahead and install it. Just make sure that your "other" OS Doesn't get formatted. In most cases you will be ok. Post any q's here and we'll try to answer them to the best of our abilities.
You may even use the live cd to get familiar with linux. But i'll suggest you to install it.