I've got a pirated Win XP- Please Help!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by dare_dexter, Sep 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dare_dexter

    dare_dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    You don't wanna know... do you?
    :cry:
    Guys, it's awesome! My "Good" PC-assembler(Who lives 250 kms from my home) has loaded the pirated version of Windows XP- without my knowledge, last time. I came to know the fact only yesterday when I tried to install Windows XP Service Pack2 from my Digit CD!
    I don't know what to do now. Can't I install SP-2 in my PC? My OS is running well, though a bit slower than the previous time and no problem till now except the mentioned installation.
    Can I change my product key? Where do I find it?
     
  2. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Buy a legal copy of XP. :D Can't give you any other advice as that would be against forum rules.
     
  3. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    ya m8 u need to buy a orignal copy for that.
    and be careful if ur surfing the net with that pirated XP and it is said to have many anti-piracy stuffs in it.

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  4. rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, net won't do anything to your os except for viruses and spyware.
    most illegal copies are vlk versions which do not need activating.
    if you have a vlk version then do not even try installing sp2.
    tell your assembler straight away for a legal copy.
     
  5. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    mail me for a solution
     
  6. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well, if you paid this "Good" PC assembler of yours for the copy of XP, then demand an original one from him! If not, then buy an original XP. Believe me, its worth it, and besides the price of an original copy has come down considerably.

    Btw dare_dexter... Could you please explain your nickname ;)
     
  7. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    ya, even i want to know :wink:
     
  8. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    u sure m8??

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  9. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    There r ways to let ur pirated XP to allow installing SP2 without any hassles.
    I think there is a patch available for that purpose.
    Pm to know how.
     
  10. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    don't they track who is using there XP though net???

    .:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    no they dont monitor it from the net ...
    they just wont let u install the service packs if it detects an illegal key
     
  12. rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    only sometimes it can be a drag to use the microsoft site. just delete cookies and temporary internet folder after each visit. also try using proxies.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    dare_dexter

    dare_dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    You don't wanna know... do you?
    I'm planning to buy a branded PC with original Windows XP

    :x
    Good heavens!
    Some of you have rightly thought, my assembler has faked me by taking the extra price for loading a "Popular and Original version of Windows" (in his words) into my computer. As I've earlier said, he lives in a city around 250 km from my place. I live in a mofussil. Soon I'll buy( may be within two months) a branded PC as they have become much cheaper than when I brought this PC. Wish me luck, guys, so I won't be cheated again! But before that, I must meet my "Good "assembler with.... :evil:
    Thank you anyway. And don't bother about my nickname as most of you have strange nicknames that cannot be explained, eh? :wink:
     
  14. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    Re: I'm planning to buy a branded PC with original Windows X

    BOL
    Man u have the nick name that ressemble out moderator dexy ( as we call him ;) ) That's why he asked :D

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  15. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    hey come on mate give the guy a break with his nick already i suppose he so called DARES to do something diff with his nick(Dun know what but has caught his attetion lol :) ).Anyways Btw well next u ougtha buy a pc try buying one with a Branded Pc Wallah with A Liscensed Xp copy and hence no woes and mate be careful the next time u ask for a piracy or tweaking the Reg Keys issue to lisence ur pirated copy cause the mods are on ur tail and might just kick u out(after a well endured warning of course lol).anways chow for now.
     
  16. lywyre

    lywyre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chennai/Vellore, TN
  17. gamefreak14

    gamefreak14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cochin
    No, pirated versions don't send any info to www.microsoft.com. Anyway try out XP anti-spy to prevent WMP to' home' everytime you load it while surfing>> www.xp-antispy.org
     
  18. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    BTW thanks for the info guys. I have decided to buy the home edition ;).

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  19. cnukutti

    cnukutti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Try Linux. It is far better to use Open source software than be afraid to use a pirated bad piece of software
     
  20. rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cooljeba, never buy home edition. it sucks!!!
    Buy a copy of xp pro or media centre.
    Home edition is a total waste of money!

    edit: if your still using pirated, use a packet sniffer to stop unwanted packets being sent.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page