Is it wise to upgrade my pc now ?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mahesh, Jul 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mahesh

    mahesh naughty boy :) :)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My current pc config is in my siggy. i have a budget of max 15k. What the components i need to upgrade? i use this pc for gaming as well as for downloading (min 12 hrs in mon - fri and 24 hrs in sat & sun). I usually play fifa 2009, COD 4 , Burn Out Paradise. Plz suggest me the components. Or shall i wait for 2-3 months? Please advise.
    PS: I don't intend to overclock.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2009
  2. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    X2 250: 4k-4.5k
    Gigabyte 780G based board: 4.5k
    Palit HD4850 : 6.5k-7k

    This should be enough.
     
  3. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    try to increase budget and get Phenom II X2 550. This is AM3 processor and upgrading mobo after a year or two will be painless as AM2+ processors won't work on AM3 board.

    There is one more way.

    Give me the exact model number of your board. If it is Socket AM2 or AM2+, AM3 processor will work on it. In that case, Just upgrade processor to Phenom II X2 550 and GPU to GTX260 (total 15k). When DDR3 goes dead cheap and AM3 boards available inside 5k happens, upgrade mobo and RAM.
     
  4. saqib_khan

    saqib_khan I M A *STAR*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Phenom II X2 550
    790G mobo
    ATI HD4850

    Somewhat over ur budget but if u wanna upgrade, then upgrade to this. Else u can also upgrade just GPU for now.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mahesh

    mahesh naughty boy :) :)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^ thanx. I really dont know the exact model number of the board !!!
    I think that all the components u mentioned will take more power during idle time??? wat to do?
     
  6. saqib_khan

    saqib_khan I M A *STAR*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Here is the power consumption chart of this processor compared to some other processors. I think it consumes less power compared to other processors, check out urself.

    BTW, again saying, urs is a nice rig, u can also just upgrade the GPU now and can upgrade processor and mobo later.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mahesh

    mahesh naughty boy :) :)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^ thanx dude. I will also think abt ur advice
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page