ipod touch 2g 8GB enough??

aman2645

Right off the assembly line
i have an option of picking up a new ipod touch 2g 8GB which retails for $229 or a refurbished ipod touch 1g 16GB for $219 on apple site.
which one will be a better option.
i mean 2g has inbuilt speaker and volume controller and sleek design.
i have a question whether 8gb space is sufficient for average use.
like storing 500 songs 4-5 movies and apps if jailbroken.

how much space does each movie take up which has been properly encoded for the 3.5 inch screen of the ipod/iphone.
is it around 500MB or 1GB

i used to drag drop files on my zen vision m without any encoding and they used to take up 700mb and where at 640x480 resolutions.
so that way it should be about 500MB at 480x360 resolutions.i am a complete noob about encoding.

Last edited:

max_demon

IM AS MAD AS HELL!!
The applications are small 500 songs would cost 3 GB @ 196kbps the movies are 700 mb (aprox ) high quality (.mp4) (MPEG4) u can get 400-300 MB if converted with H.264 .

THe apps are small 1 GB should be enuf .

OP
A

aman2645

Right off the assembly line
so should i pick up 8gb or 16 gb.

actually i was sceptical about the fact that games for ipod touch like asphalt or gts racing are actually 100+ MB in size.
so i wont be able to fit many in 2gb space left after movies and songs are stored in it.

ring_wraith

=--=l33t=--=
I would say go for the old 16 Gig. Its actually slimmer, just doesn't have rounded edges. Plus, its back is less scratch prone. The volume rocker is a nifty improvement, but one I'm sure is not worth the 8GB capacity drop.

twisted_mind

Broken In