installation problems in mandrake linux 8.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ssk_the_gr8

Make Way the LORD is Here
i am new to linux irecently got this linux cd from a friend
during install it asks about partation
should i use the windows partation or create a new one?
which is better?i dont want to format my disc when i have to unistall linux
as my friend had to

how can i uninstall linux from my system ?
ive heard of some fdisk command
what is it?
will i be able to reclaim the new partation if i have un installed linux 8.2
my old pc has
192 mb ram(133 mhz)
400 mhz celeron
20 gb harddisk(3 gb free only)

is it good enough to run linux 8.2(mandrake)
and could u'll recommend some good programs i can download for linux such as office antivirus etc

need help
thankx in advance

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Well firstly, you can easily run linux on your computer. Though I guess it will be a bit slow since it uses KDE which is a big resource hog. To run it nice and smoothly, you may have to use some windows managers. They are a unknown concept to users of MS Windows and a bit tricky to use in the beginning, once you get used to it, your PC will feel lot faster than it would feel under windows. You can't install LInux and Windows in same partition. You will have to give separate partitions. Don't worry about formatting part. Just leave empty partition on your computer to install linux. If you do decide to remove linux in future you will again have to format the disk to use it for Windows,
Don't bother with fdisk command, unless the data on your PC isn't too important to you. Incorrectly done fdisk can lead to data loss. Leave the partitioning part for Disk Drake (i guess) used by mandrake.