IE "Page cannot be found"

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by prabhatmohit, Nov 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prabhatmohit

    prabhatmohit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whenever I try 2 open any website my IE says" Page cannot be found". but in Opera I can visit those websites. Plz. help
    I m running XP SP2. thanx
     
  2. diab0lic666

    diab0lic666 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Godless Savage Garden.
    Did you setup proxy for IE? which sites are not opening?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    prabhatmohit

    prabhatmohit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All the websites. I use zone alarm but I have been using it since 4 months but IE was running. I think Windows Firewall has caused problem
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    then .. disable the windows firewall and check if its opening pages !!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    prabhatmohit

    prabhatmohit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have disabled windows firewall(alreeady mentioned running zone alarm)
     
  6. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    im going to suggest the most obvious things (dont get angry if u've already checked it)

    firstly check if IE has been given access to Internet Zone or not

    then check the "Alerts and Logs" section to see if zone alarm block or allow the requests by IE

    there is something which works in windows sometimes ..
    i suggesting it just-like-that
    enable the windows firewall and then disable it again ..
    see if it helps
     
  7. [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    delete temp internet files and cookies....in security tab click on default level
    try some commands here
    regsvr32 softpub.dll
    regsvr32 wintrust.dll
    ipconfig /flushdns
    i hav worked in isp tech support so u can b sure tht these wont screw up ur system...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    prabhatmohit

    prabhatmohit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These codes should be run by using Run commmand??
     
  9. [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes go to run and type these one by one
     
  10. OP
    OP
    prabhatmohit

    prabhatmohit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Please post your HijackThis Logfile for better assesment of your problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page