I have BSNL 8 Mbps connection.

Saahib

Harvik780 said:
This is the speed i am getting on most servers(including the recommended one)due to syncing problems.

*img134.imageshack.us/img134/2179/speedyx5.jpg

My link is responding very poorly.I have complained several time and changed my line 3 times by bugging the exchange office.

YOu check BSNL query thread, may be you can get help.

About seeing those figures, it simply means that your line can handle upto 8mbps stuff, when dataone was launched initially, they had done most of the line with 8mbps capacity but later found that its not possible on current bsnl infrastruture so they reverted back..

anyways.. rolling out 8mbps is not possible for bsnl.. but ya can do in new areas.. where they hv new infra!

hahahari said:
I am on Airtel 256 I get 275 down and 250 Up.Thats enough for me.And its quite stable for me ;)
yaa..Airtel is really a good ISP..and best when it comes customer support and service.

I am also on Airtel BB, 256 unlimited connection..and I also get around 300 kbps speed.

H

Harvik780

ToTheBeatOfUrHeart
cool_techie_tvm said:
@Harvik780 Arent u the one who had started a topic on VT.com? Stating negligence from BSNL's part !!??
Yup.I am sick of going to the BSNL office again and again.

satyamy

Alive Again...
Can anyone guess
what is my connection speed ???

here's my result

1st attempt
*www.speedtest.net/result/205016421.png

from New York :D

2nd attempt

*www.speedtest.net/result/205017078.png

and 3rd attempt
*www.speedtest.net/result/205017417.png
From London :D

anand1

Yes the internet service providers in india is not up to date uptill now be it BSNL on any other providers. I have used BSNL and Airtel as well and the speed is always the demand which they are not able to give us of what they have promised.

skeletor

This is my BSNL DataOne ADSL Line Status as my modem shows. :cool:

Statistics --- Downstream/Upstream

Line Rate --- 2048 Kbps/256 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate --- 8203 Kbps/1036 Kbps
Noise Margin --- 29.8 dB/31.0 dB
Line Attenuation --- 37.0 dB/20.5 dB
Output Power --- 15.4 dBm/12.0 dBm

I think that my ADSL line can attain ~8mbps download and ~1mbps upload speed. I live in Gurgaon. But I personally think that BSNL is not going to make a big mistake to roll out 8mbps to every single user regardless of their plans (except Unlimited) like they are giving 2mbps to everyone (except those on Unlimited plan) at the moment. They are not going put strain on their servers only for those who are paying Rs.250 per month (Startup Plan 250) and give them 8mbps. And even I think that they will not give 8mbps to Home 500 (Rs. 500/month). I don't exactly know, but they may give 8mbps to everyone.

But I don't care about download. Its the upload speed which matters me the most. We need to get upload speed far more than 256kbps (which we get at the moment). Probably they may give 1mbps (what I am assuming by seeing my line status) to 8mbps customers. But for those who seed torrents, do you think that 1mbps is enough??. I personally think that their 8mbps plan will cost Rs.1000+. They also need to improve upon their 2am-8am Night Unlimited time slot. Lets hope for the good from BSNL (because we can't hope the best)! :neutral:

How many of you agree with me????

I thinks BSNL was testing IPTV . IPTV will have 8Mbps connection. BTW if you check BSNL BB page then you will see this ;)
Services available through Broadband

High speed Internet Access: This is the always-on Internet access service with speed ranging from 256 kbps to 8 Mbps.
;)
link

satyamy

Alive Again...
ravi_9793 said:
@satyamy ..who is ur ISP???
FiveNetwork
www.fivenetwork.com :D

I pay Rs. 495 per month
Morning 9 to Night 11 (Limited - 150mb per day)
and Night 11 to morning 9 Unlimited

My last Months Downlaod was 12GB
I am happy with My ISP not need to any BSNL or MTNL :D

Cyrus_the_virus

Unmountable Boot Volume
gagandeep said:
But I don't care about download. Its the upload speed which matters me the most. We need to get upload speed far more than 256kbps (which we get at the moment). Probably they may give 1mbps (what I am assuming by seeing my line status) to 8mbps customers. But for those who seed torrents, do you think that 1mbps is enough??.

Home500 already has an upload speed of 864Kbps. I have been getting this speed for the last 4months. I had posted the test result in another thread.

Rockstar11

satyamy said:
FiveNetwork

I pay Rs. 495 per month

wow really good connection night 11 to morning 9 unlimited :)
aur yaha sala BSNL night 2 to morning 8 Unlimited
hai :mad::mad::mad:

whats your download speed ???
i mean download manger se kitni Kbps speed milti hai ??

and guys yeh BSNL 8 Mbps kab aanewala hai aur 2 Mbps unlimited kab honewala hai??? :rolleyes:

skeletor

Cyrus_the_virus said:
Home500 already has an upload speed of 864Kbps. I have been getting this speed for the last 4months. I had posted the test result in another thread.

Dude, thats the attainable line rate. It means that your line can handle/attain 864kbps speed. By the way, my attainable upload speed is more 1036kbps. The actual upload speed we are getting in Home 500 at the moment is 256kbps.

satyamy said:
FiveNetwork

I pay Rs. 495 per month

My last Months Downlaod was 12GB
I am happy with My ISP not need to any BSNL or MTNL :D
great yaar..........
Even better than my Airtel :D

satyamy

Alive Again...
Rockstar11 said:
wow really good connection night 11 to morning 9 unlimited :)
aur yaha sala BSNL night 2 to morning 8 Unlimited
hai :mad::mad::mad:

whats your download speed ???
i mean download manger se kitni Kbps speed milti hai ??

and guys yeh BSNL 8 Mbps kab aanewala hai aur 2 Mbps unlimited kab honewala hai??? :rolleyes:

it varies

if i download a song from cooltoad i get speed of 7-8kbps

if i download same song from mp3hungama.com i get speed of 350-450kbps

and

If i download a Trial Software from site like microsoft.com, abode.com or corel.com i get speed of 500-700 kbps

so normally I prefere a Site with good speed (bandwidth) :D

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think if you dont use uploading much and do downling a lot than go for fivenetwork
BSNL, MTNL, Airtel, TATA, Reliance all are :( huh in from of this