How to create a virtual world and manage it over a LAN?

Does anyone know how "virtual worlds" (like Second Life and GoJiyo) are created?

I would like to create a (much) shorter version for mine. I would host it in my computer and access it via LAN. May be a total of 4-5 users.

I would like to start with a single room, and low-res characters. Then I'll gradually upgrade.

I have some experience in 3D modelling and animation. But I have no idea how to make the characters (controlled by different users) interact.

I'll probably have to use an engine/ platform. I heard of OpenSim (OpenSim), but have zero experience with it. Anybody used it here?

I abandoned the previous thread because one of the main objectives has changed - I now want to host the whole thing in my own computer, mainly to overcome the cost factor. I want to do this for fun. In the process, I'll get to know many new things. :)

OP
gdebojyoti

gdebojyoti

AFOL
I think Hamachi or Tunngle will do

You don't understand my question. I have access to quite a number of computers. So operating via LAN (without Tunngle) is easily manageable.
My question is - how?

So far I have come to know this -

In a virtual world, some server has to keep track of the map and what is happening, and communicate with players . When one avatar moves around, it has to send the new position to all the other players. It also has to store the asset database (3D models, textures, etc.) so they can be sent to new players as needed for display.
What distinguishes a "game" from a "virtual world" is persistent state. A game always starts in the same place with the same conditions for everyone who plays. A world remembers past changes. So a new player sees the world as it is now - not in the default starting point.

Hrishi

YOu should look about this info on "GameDev community" . Thee are some good posts about controlling and managing the "MMO engine".

pratyush997

Inactive