Help Me to Overclock 955 !!

Discussion in 'Overclocking' started by rohit2hell, Nov 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rohit2hell

    rohit2hell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I got
    AMD Phenom II 955 BE (3.2Ghz)
    Asus M4A78 Series mothrbord
    4 Gb DDR3 Ram (1333 Mhz)
    1 GB HD4870 (MSI graphic card)
    600 W Cooler Master SMPS

    Can any one tell me How much can I overclock My CPU without Melting it :neutral:
    And How to Overclock it??

    Please..:smile:
    Thanks In Advance
     
  2. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Google AM3 overclocking guides. Monitor temps, should not go above 61, which is AMD specified limit. Get a good CPU cooler like the OCZ Vendetta 2 @ 2.6k before you clock it.
     
  3. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    OMG this is the extreme power series PSU??? please i beg of u change it as soon as possible...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    rohit2hell

    rohit2hell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ?? what do u mean ?? is there is a problm with my PSU?? :?::?:
     
  5. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    i once tried to overclock my pc it gave a blue screen and restarted...
    i tried several times but same thing happened..
    me too wanna overclock my pc but dunno how to anybody can help...
    i always keep my cabinet open... does it help to keep the PC temp. low ?
     
  6. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Why this panic attack..tell us please...?
     
  7. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    @puneet config please. If Intel, asigh can help you.

    @ rohit CPU cooler first. then clocks.
     
  8. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi

    Could both of you please update your signature with system specs. Also Compaddict is worried about the OPs PSU. Lets hear on that before imparting OC methodology...which we love to do so...! :p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p
     
  9. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    ok...thanks krow bro see my config in my sigi
    i dont even know the abc of overclocking...
    so please teach me considering me a noob :D
     
  10. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^
    1. Which PSU are you using.
    2. Are you on Stock cooling for the CPU.
    3. Could you download CPU-Z and post screen shots of the CPU/Memory and SPD tabs.
    4. Download RealTemp and Prime95 also.
     
  11. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Intel Burn Test would be my recommendation. It gets done in lesser time. :)
     
  12. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Does it make a temperature log simultaneously which can be easily posted here...with the core temperatures.

    Am asking, since it never even launches on my system....! If yes, we can use that for analysis..?
     
  13. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^No, it does not. For a simultaneous log we can use OCCT linpack I think.
     
  14. puneetgarg

    puneetgarg Learn & Earn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tutorialization
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    here u go bro please help me out
     
  15. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Then I suggest for this case, since we need online screen shots, RealTEMP in conjunction with Prime95 will do good. The OP can definately use Intel Burn test to verify system stability for his own sense.

    @OP:
    Will get back on the OC. Mean while, there is an OC thread in the 'CHIT CHAT' section. It has a flow chart. See if that makes sense.

    What about the PSU, and HSF question I asked. 'Help us to help you'
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  16. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Same thing can be done with RealTEMP plus Intel Burn Test right? Or CPUID H/W monitor with Intel Burn Test? That's what I did at least. :)
     
  17. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Not really...

    Cause when RealTEMP sensor check option is used, it at the same time stresses the CPU as per Prime95 (2x worker threads), and logs the temperatures on the interface. It is calibrated against TjMax, which we need for Intel cores. With Intel Burn test running, it would just show one singular value on the RealTEMP interface, same with CPUID.

    I want to see the gradient, and variation when the core is load is being sequentially increased. RealTEMP logs this in stages. And all the stage temperatures are shown..
     
  18. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Hmmm... Since RealTEMP is only for Intel, I can't really learn about it either. :( I'm off to my AMD world... :)
     
  19. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^
    It does it like this:
    [​IMG]

    See the temperature logs at various intervals. With Prime95 as the stressing engine.
     
  20. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    What is Temperature Junction Max?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page