Help me to buy an UPS

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by hafees, Aug 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    Hi!

    please suggeste me a good UPS with prices (600VA or more)
     
  2. svenkat83

    svenkat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    APC(American Power Conversion).
    Its a huge hit my friend and its good too.Go for it.
    Price is around Rs.3000.
    My friend bought APC UPS for Rs.2850.I guess it was 500VA.
     
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    yeah thats the 500VA
    APC is the best if u want the best
    its a lil expensive than other brands tho
    i still suggest APC
    peace of mind !
     
  4. OP
    OP
    hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    But what about the prices of 600 VA or more. how do u rate the VGAURD UPS?
     
  5. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    600va starts from 5k as far as i know
    as for vguard
    never heard of it
    if u do wanna go for anything but an APC then id suggest a microtek i think
    im still not very sure as i wouldnt recommend anything but APC... no matter what components u have in ur comp .. atleast u can give it the best security
     
  6. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    600va start from 1999-microtek + 2yrs warranty,they start around 1650.
    800va(most probable) generic-3k
     
  7. TheMask

    TheMask @ TechEnclave

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mys, IN
    Powercom 600VA are supposedly good too. Infact, Powercom is the 2nd largest UPS company in the world. Next to APC. They have a 600VZ UPS in the sub-3k range.

    I wudnt suggest V-Guard UPS though. have heard some problems about them.
     
  8. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    600va that cheap ?
    what prices did i check then ???
    ill have to look it up
    sorry abt that !
     
  9. TheMask

    TheMask @ TechEnclave

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mys, IN
    hey i am not totally sure.. will check tomorw and let u know :)
     
  10. microcray

    microcray New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyde n Sec
    Hey pal, dont think twice, APC 's the best. a bit costly tho.
     
  11. microcray

    microcray New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyde n Sec
    I bot my APC four years back and i havnt had a single problem. And Just recently my battery expired and I had to replace it. You wud have to replace the battery once in 4 years (i think). Thats all that goes for the maintenance.
     
  12. delhibhai1000

    delhibhai1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DELHI,duh!!
    well i hav had a tritonics UPS fer the last 4.5 yrs.. there's has been NO problem till date & it still provides 15min backup!so does that mean its better than APC??

    if u r not buyiung APC then there r only 2 companies: either Wipro Emerge or Numeric...
     
  13. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Numeric Digital 600 WA is also I m looking ot buy one from delhi, or u can also go for APC, but the backupdepends on your system specs
     
  14. navneeth_snr

    navneeth_snr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    My Friend uses APC & I too think its the best. But I have Emerge "UPS 500" and it is also a very good.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    Thanks for so much responses!

    Do APC have any model with rating of 600 VA or 700 VA?? I ve a 17 inch monitor and plans to upgrade to a 64 bit processor. So i need more power! Please specify the model number
     
  16. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    apc has 600 i think
    but it has 650 for sure
    then i think is 800
    then is 1kva !!
     
  17. Chyawanprash

    Chyawanprash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya guys, i also need help buying ups. someone please give me money
     
  18. maverickrohan

    maverickrohan SABER RIDER

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    The iBall UPS is for 1700 @ Lami......its prettey decent if u just need it to overcome slight disruptions.......
     
  19. Aanand

    Aanand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Coimbatore, TN
    I bought Numeric 600 plus, a 600 VA UPS four months back and i have some problem with it. The UPS reboots now and then during power failures and power fluctuations. But it works uninterruptedly if I turn off the switch in the wall socket. What could be the problem? Please help!
    My System config: Cel 2.4, 512 MB RAM,2 HDDs- 160 GB Seagate, 8 GB Fujitsu, 2 DVD drives- LG DVD drive and Sony DVD RW, 17' LG flatron monitor.
     
  20. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Sometime back I bought Powercom 600VA for Rs.1900/ and it works fine. Another good brand is Liebert (Emerson) which costs slightly more but is even better. Both have input range from 140 volts and so are good for low voltage areas. And both carry 2 year warranty.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page