First version of linux?

Status
Not open for further replies.

firewall

In the zone
September 1991 - Linux version 0.01 is released. and it doesnt support X-Window.

And remember tht Linux is not the OS, it is just a kernel. Waht we see now a days are mostly running gnu systems on Linux kernel. Thats why we call it gnu/linux

:)

tuxfan

Technomancer
Atul Shukla said:
Can i get the first version of linux. I am new to linux and want to give it a shape from start. :lol:

Don't you think this is something like learning the bicycle before you want to drive a car? Just start with the car man!! Take a latest distro and start learning. Otherwise by the time you are thru with first version, 10 more versions will be out.

~Phenom~

The No.1 Stupid
if u wanna know about origin of linux , let me tell you linux was made by a BCA or PGDCA student ( not sure)
as his project report. it may sound amazing but its true.
i had read this long time back in a linux book.

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
rong itself is WRONG buddie, well, e was a hacker and so is bill gates ,
refer this site for a bookon legendary hackers :
*www.gutenberg.org/etext/729

vignesh

Wise Old Owl
Actually he bought MSdos from a swedish hacker and using that copied the windows thing from Apple and build Windows.

samjkd

Broken In
Hai all

Can i get the first version of linux. I am new to linux and want to give it a shape from start.

If u want to use linux then go for a new version coz they support Graphical User Interface with X windows. If u want to learn the basics of an operating system (Linux) then go for the old version. First version of linux was written for Intel 386 processor which is so simple compared with today’s linux kernel 2.6. Here r some prerequisites before learning Linux kernel.