1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Firefox Crashes every half an hour or so

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Generic Superhero, Mar 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Generic Superhero

    Generic Superhero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    this has become such an irritation that i hav been forced 2 use opera more. but why is this hapenning? i think this has started ever since i upgraded to 1.5... :?
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    might be a Spyware
    run a scan
    even i am on 1.5 no probs here
     
  3. killerz

    killerz MasterMind

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    i think its the internet explorer extension if u use it, i had the same problem but after removing the ie extension it was fine.
     
  4. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    It was crashing on my pc too.Try safe mode and see if it is crashing.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Generic Superhero

    Generic Superhero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    @vijay: no its nt a spyware. i am v careful when it comes to spywares.

    @killerz: i don have the ie xtension.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Generic Superhero

    Generic Superhero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ya i think i ll reinstall Firefox


    [​IMG]
     
  7. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Reinstalling did not help me.Try it and tell if it works.
     
  8. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    It happens with me too .. See this
    [​IMG]
     
  9. adi87

    adi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also having the same error....
    My firefox ver 1.5 is crashin not half an hour but evry 15-20 minutes for 3-4 times but then runs smooothly...Whts the prob ? I m using the ie extension.
     
  10. dharmeshhtailor

    dharmeshhtailor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it happened to me also......
    but onwe of my friend told that it might be spyware or virus..................
    first i use zone alarm....
    but it dint detect any virus or anything.........
    thne i used McAfee.........
    it detected a trojan..........
    after deleting the trojan my firefox is working as smooth as ever..............
    try to scan using McAfee..........
     
  11. kato

    kato Karthiksn

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I dont use the Ie extension but it seems It has been crashing every now and then the and showing the Mozilla Quality Feedback agent any help on this and I am sure its not a spyware or anything as it is the same with so many ppl
     
  12. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    It cant be spyware or trojan .. Its a problem in 1.5 v I think .. It should improve by only next release

    And by keeping the Quality Feedback Agent on .. sendin the crashing report should help the developers
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Generic Superhero

    Generic Superhero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Well I am not having the problem anymore. I have done two things and finally got rid of the problem.

    1. I was using Google Web Accelerator. I disabled it.
    2. I uninstalled the extension Extended Statsu Bar.

    now which action of mine solved it i dunno :?
     
  14. navraj

    navraj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Even I'm having the same problem. One more thing. Whenever I open up my Yahoo account with the new BETA interface, 8 out of 10 times, firefox crashes. I though that it might be a coincidense. But I have got it to crash almost everyday when I open my email.
    I think there is some problem with the scripts.
     
  15. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    My Firefox has started crashing again...
     
  16. selva1966

    selva1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mine is also crashing now and then. Version 1.5.0.1 :evil:

    No spyware. Cheked with 3 anti spywares and 1 anti virus (Nod32)
     
  17. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm... my FX crashes each time I load my yahoo mail alongwith Gmail... perhaps overload, else its fine, but yeah, its getting heavier...
     
  18. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    Firefoz crashes n't coz of spyware, buy bcoz of Anti-Spyware (MS Antispyware ). Ever since i removed it, everything is workin fine
     
  19. selva1966

    selva1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't have MS Antispyware. But still crashes often. I think the cause should be something else.
     
  20. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    It just crashing too much now .. without any specific reasons.

    It crashed, most of the time at digit

    :( its just crashing
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page